27 May 2022

Another late, late show earns Bellaghy a victory

Damon Gallagher's late score caps off strong finish

Bellaghy appoint new senior football manager ahead of the 2020 season

Pairc Sean De Bruin


Bellaghy 1-15
Swatragh 2-11

Damon Gallagher was the Bellaghy star with the winning point in stoppage time to cap off a fine comeback at home to Swatragh on Saturday evening.

As the clock ticked towards the 64th minute, Gallagher was faced with a tight angle, but he held his nerve to slice over the winner with the outside of his right foot.

It seemed an unlikely win after conceding two early goals and trailing by eight points, 2-8 to 0-6, after 33 minutes before Gallagher's goal got them back into contention at the end of a well orchestrated team move.

It was harsh on Swatragh who deserved to take something from the game, but fortune favours the brave and Bellaghy's momentum grew in the final quarter.

Conor McAtamney and Chrissy Downey, not direct opponents, put in impressive displays at midfield. Sean Francis Quinn, James and Patrick Kearney were also in fine form for the 'Swa.

Two goals from Francis Kearney and Cahal Murray had Swatragh 2-1 to 0-1 ahead after seven minutes. It was point for point for the rest of the half and the visitors led 2-6 to 0-6 at the break.

It looked bleak for the Tones when Kevin Madden's side pushed eight clear, but Gallagher's goal sparked a sterling comeback. Swatragh missed a goal chance late on before the Tones tied the game and Gallagher kicked the winner.

BELLAGHY: Peter Stuart; Dean Martin, James Diamond, Jack McErlean; Ryan Lee, Conan Milne, Declan Brown; Chrissy Downey (0-3, 1 '45'), Conor Quinn; Chris McAfee, Eoghan Brown, Odhran Lee; Lorcan Spier (0-1), Damon Gallagher (1-8, 2m, 6f), Ruairi McElwee (0-3)
SUBS: Dara McErlean, Oisin McClafferty, Karl McCallion

SWATRAGH: Sean McNicholl; Cathal Quinn, Tiarnan Walsh, Niall Coyle (0-1); Brian Diamond (0-1), Liam Kearney, Sean Martin Quinn; Conor McAtamney, Patrick Kearney (0-1); Fintan McGurk, Sean Francis Quinn, James Kearney (0-3, 2f); Paul McAtamney (0-1), Francis Kearney (1-3, 3f), Cahal Murray (1-1)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.