27 May 2022

Craigbane scoring power the difference in title decider with Lissan

Aideen McGonagle scores 3-12 for Craigbane

Craigbane scoring power the difference in title decider with Lissan

Celebration time for Craigbane.

With the scoring power of player of the final Aideen McGonagle and county minor star Orlagh O'Kane, Craigbane shot their way to glory in the first game of the day.


Craigbane 7-20
Lissan 4-7
The teams met three weeks ago in a tightly contested league encounter, but this time it was Craigbane who raced out of the blocks.

Aideen McGonagle shot 1-3 as they hit Coleraine with 1-5 without reply before Lissan registered their opening score.

Craigbane's attack, with Orlagh O'Kane to the fore gave McGonagle, who finished with 3-12, a plentiful supply of the ball and her second goal had them 2-5 to 1-3 up at the second water break.

With the trio of Shannagh Conwell, Aisling Mortimer and Chloe Conway having a say at midfield, Craigbane's spell of control helped them into a 6-8 to 2-4 interval lead.

Two Lissan goals had them back in the game and with their supporters getting behind them, they began to grow in confidence.

In the pivotal third quarter, goalkeeper Niamh O'Kane and her defence began to get a grip of the game and seven points saw them 7-15 to 4-7 ahead at the end of the third quarter.

Chloe Conway and Clare Biggs added goals in a game where all 38 scores came from play. The scoreline didn't reflect what Lissan brought to the table, but it was Craigbane's scoring power that made the difference.

CRAIGBANE SQUAD: Niamh O'Kane, Kate Donaghy, Aoife Coll, Laoise Conwell, Aimee Conwell, Anna Sharkey, Roma Donaghy, Shannagh Conwell, Aisling Mortimer, Chloe Conway, Orlagh O'Kane, Erin Ferry, Jennifer Deighan, Aideen McGonagle, Cora Biggs, Ciara O'Kane, Clare Biggs, Shannon Boon, Laura Gormley

LISSAN SQUAD: Caitlin Donaghy, Aoife Donaghy Erin Coyle, Klara Wardle, Rebecca Timoney, Cherise Scott, Erinn Spiers, Cassie Loughran, Ciara Murray, Grace Loughran, Sarah Loughran, Caitlin Conway, Aoife Spiers, Caitlin Mulgrew, Ciara Donnelly, Ella Coyle, Ruby Scullion, Sarah Quigley

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.