27 May 2022

Coleraine edge out Slaughtneil

Ballinascreen maintain winning start

Coleraine edge out Slaughtneil

Leo Passmore made a series of fine saves to deny Slaughtneil. (Pic: Kelvin Boyes/Presseye)


Coleraine 0-13
Slaughtneil 0-12
Coleraine went one better than 2019 season by overcoming Slaughtneil at Emmet Park, thanks to impressive performances from Sean Leo McGoldrick and defender Lorcan McMullen.

Two years ago it took a late Sean Ó Caiside goal to seal a four-point win, but this time it was Leo Passmore who denied the Emmet's. The Coleraine netminder made a series of fine saves.

The visitors were 0-7 to 0-6 up at the break and were always able to keep their noses in front thanks to Passmore and Liam McGoldrick's point ended up being the winning score.

COLERAINE: Leo Passmore; Pearse Dallas, Ciaran Lagan, Lorcan McMullen; Aidan Boyle (0-2), Colm McGoldrick, Paul Roantree; Liam McGoldrick (0-1), Adam Kerr (0-1); Ciaran Lenahan. Sean Leo McGoldrick (0-7, 4f), Kosta Papachristopolous; Danny McGarry, Dara Mooney (0-2), Paddy Mullanwney, Peadar Kearney, John Mellon; James McCloskey, Conor McAllister (0-1), Fearghal Ó Caiside; Paddy Convery, Brian Cassidy (0-5); Mark McGuigan (0-2), Gareth O'Kane (0-1), Proinsias Burke (0-1f); Liam Cassidy, Michael McEldowney (0-1), Conan Hunter
SUBS: Sean Ó Caiside (0-1), Jack Cassidy

Ballinascreen 5-28
Na Magha 1-14
Ballinascreen made the long journey to Derry, but returned with a comfortable win in a high scoring encounter with a Na Magha team that included nine minors due to a number of injuries.

It maintains their 100 percent record ahead of their clash with Lavey after the league break.

Everyone from midfield up got on the score-sheet for 'Screen, including all five subs has they amassed 5-23 from play in a fine overall performance.

BALLINASCREEN: Marty Mulgrew; Ronan McKenna, Ciaran Doyle, Aidan McGuigan; Daire Kelly, James O'Connor, Philip McGlade; Ruairi McWilliams (0-2), John McCloskey (0-1); Cormac Gough (1-1), Aaron Kelly (0-3), Anton Scullion (0-4); Noel Rafferty (1-2), Reece McSorley (2-1), Paul Cleary (0-7, 5f)
SUBS: Michael Kennedy (0-2), Charlie Gilmore (0-1), Ryan Scullion (0-1), Ciaran McBride (1-2), Emmett Donnelly (0-1)

NA MAGHA: Daryl Connolly; Adam Rankin, Diarmuid Shiels, Daniel Doherty; Ciaran Crossan, Breandán Quigley, Aaron Campbell; Padhraig Nelis (0-2), Tim Rankin (1-3); Jordan McRory, Deaghlan Foley (0-8), Keelan Doherty (0-1); Ruaidhrí McLaughlin, Conor Shiels, Oisin Caulfield
SUBS: Oisin O'Kane, Oisin Duddy, Adam Breslin,

Banagher 4-15
Carrickmore 0-8
First half goals from Johnny O'Dwyer, Daniel McGrellis and Ciaran Lynch put Banagher into a commanding lead on their way to victory at home to Carrickmore on Wednesday night.

Manager Ryan Lynch had his county contingent back on board again, but was without Darragh Cartin who had his operation on his cruciate ligament injury sustained on Derry duty in Mayo.

The home side were 3-8 to 0-1 ahead at the break, with O'Dwyer adding a second goal in the second-half.

BANAGHER: Daryl McDermott; Cathair McGilligan, Ruairí McCloskey, Callum O'Kane; Dara McCloskey (0-1), Oisin McCloskey, Niall Farren; Ciaran Lynch (1-4, 1 sideline), Pauric McCloskey; Liam Eoin Campbell (0-1), Tiarnán McCloskey (0-3, 2f), Thomas O'Neill (0-1); Niall Biggs, Johnny O'Dwyer (2-3), Daniel McGrellis (1-1)
SUBS: Paul Murphy, Jamie McCormack

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.