WATCH: Slaughtneil lift the 1998 Ulster minor title at St Paul's after victory over Ardboe

Kevin O' Neill was awarded the man of the match award

A flashback to the 1998 Ulster club minor final at St Paul's and a win over Slaughtneil over Ardboe.

The Emmet's had to come back from a first-half own goal to win 1-9 to 1-8 against the Tyrone champions who had Brian McGuigan, Tommy McGuigan and current Slaughtneil coach Gavin Devlin in their side.

Ardboe were Tyrone minor and senior champions that year, while Tyrone were All-Ireland minor champions.

Francis McEldowney, Barry McGuigan and Conan Cassidy went on to play in Ulster senior finals for Slaughtneil.

Slaughtneil scorers: Kevin O'Neill 1-2, Patrick Bradley 0-4, Niall Convery 0-2 and Larry Bradley 0-1.

Ardboe scorers: Ryan Quinn 1-1, Aidan Quinn 0-3, Tommy McGuigan 0-2, Brian McGuigan and Paul Ryan 0-1 each.


- Lavey win first Ulster minor title.  More...

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.