One change to Ireland team for Six Nations finale against France


Robbie Henshaw of Ireland during the Guinness Six Nations Rugby Championship match between Ireland and Italy at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

The Ireland Coaching Team have named the match day squad for final game of the 2020 Guinness Six Nations Championships as Ireland face France in Paris this Saturday with one enforced change to the staring 15.

Captain Johnny Sexton is partnered at half back by Conor Murray and Robbie Henshaw joins Bundee Akiin the centre following the injury to Garry Ringrose. Jacob Stockdale retains the No.15 jersey and Andrew Conway and Hugo Keenan complete the back three.

Upfront Cian Healy is set to win his 100th cap for Ireland and is joined in the front row by Rob Herring and Andrew Porter with ballast coming from James Ryan and Tadgh Beirne at lock.  The backrow is unchanged from last week with Caelan Doris at 6, Will Connors at 7 and CJ Stander at 8.

The replacements are Dave Heffernan, Ed Byrne, Finlay Bealham, Ultan Dillane, Peter O’Mahony, Jamison Gibson Park, Ross Byrne and Chris Farrell.

Kick-off at the Stade de France is 8.05pm (Irish Time) on Saturday and the game is being televised by Virgin Media and BBC.  

Ireland Team to Play France - 2020 Guinness 6 Nations Championships Round 5

15. Jacob Stockdale (Ulster/Lurgan) 29 caps
14. Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen) 22 caps
13. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 44 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 27 caps
11. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 1 cap
10. Jonathan Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 92 caps CAPTAIN
9. Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 82 caps

1. Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 99 caps
2. Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 12 caps
3. Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 27 caps
4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 14 caps
5. James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 27 caps
6. Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 3 caps
7. Will Connors (Leinster/UCD) 1 cap
8. CJ Stander (Munster/Shannon) 42 caps

16. Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) 2 caps
17. Ed Byrne (Leinster/UCD) 1 cap
18. Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 10 caps
19. Ultan Dillane (Connacht/Corinthians) 16 caps
20. Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 68 caps
21. Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 1 cap
22. Ross Byrne (Leinster/UCD) 7 caps
23. Chris Farrell (Munster/Young Munster) 9 caps

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email or at any time.

Read more from Derry Now.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Derry News and the County Derry Post here for instant access to Derry's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Derry with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.