17 May 2022

Slaughtneil come back from six points down to secure another title

Graham and Rafferty find the net

Ulster camogie final latest: Slaughtneil v Loughgiel

Slaughtneil camogie squad pictured before Sunday's game with Loughgiel


Slaughtneil 2-8
Loughgiel 1-7

Slaughtneil came from six points down ton win their fourth Ulster senior camogie title at Páirc Esler on Sunday afternoon.

A Clare McKillop goal had the Shamrocks 1-3 ahead before Slaughtneil ignited.

An interception in defence by Clare McGrath got Slaughtneil on the attack.  Sinead Mellon took a ball from Siobhan Bradley and offloaded to Olivia Rafferty who slotted low under Megan Coyle for the Derry champions' first goal.

A Tina Bradley free levelled the score after 22 minutes but Slaughtneil finished the half with a second goal.  The move began with a Bridín McAllister interception at midfield before Cliona Mulholland's defence-splitting pass found Shannon Graham.  She didn't have to break stride and after sidestepping the final defender, she buried to the net.

The Emmet's led 2-5 to 1-5 at the break and two Tina Bradley points put them futher ahead but they breathed a sigh of relief Caitrin Dobbin's goal chance whizzed past the post in the 47th minute.

Emma McMullan's free cut the lead to a goal with 50 minutes gone, 2-7 to 1-7.  They had to survive a Caitrin Dobbin goal chance late after 47 minutes.

With Louise Dougan marshalling the defence there was no way back for Loughigiel in the closing stages.

Slaughtneil: Jolene Bradley; Céat McEldowney, Gráinne Ní Catháin, Louise Dougan; Eilís McGrath; Bridín McAllister, Aoife Ní Chaiside, Clare McGrath; Shannon Graham (1-2), Cliona Mulholland; Siobhan Bradley, Tina Bradley 0-6, 4f), Therese Mellon; Olivia Rafferty (1-0), Sinead Mellon.
Sub: Josine McMullan for T Mellon (48).

Loughgiel: Megan Coyle; Charlene Campbell, Chloe Higgins, Ciara Laverty; Maria Lynn, Maeve Connolly (0-1) Shauna Devlin; Amy Boyle, Lucia McNaughton; Emma McMullan (0-4, 3f), Anna Connolly, Caitrin Dobbin (0-1); Clare McKillop (1-0), Christine Laverty, Roisin McCormick (0-2).

Subs: Orlaigh Laverty for A Boyle (40), Meghan McGarry for C McKillop (48), Ciara Dobbin for M Lynn (57).

Ref: Philip McDonald (Cavan).

Report, reaction and photos in Tuesday's County Derry Post.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.