18 May 2022

Slaughtneil defeat Ballinascreen to win Derry U18.5 hurling title

Goalkeeper Conor Coyle made a string of fine saves

Slaughtneil defeat Ballinascreen to win Derry U18.5 hurling title

The winning Slaughtneil team.

Slaughtneil are the Derry U18.5 hurling champions after a win over Ballinascreen at a rainswept Owenbeg on Thursday night.


Slaughtneil 3-10 
Ballinascreen 0-4

It was Ballinascreen who enjoyed much of the early possession, but a point-blank Conor Coyle save to deny Ryan Henry set the tone for the game.

The Emmet's goalkeeper made three excellent saves in the early stages against a Ballinascreen side who kept going for goals.

When Eamon Cassidy hit Slaughtneil's first goal of the game, it left Ballinascreen playing catch-up.

The 'Screen half-back line won their share of possession, but were unable to translate it into scores and they trailed 2-7 to 0-0 at half time, with Peter Convery scoring a second Slaughtneil goal.

Points from Conor Shiels and Conor Murtagh got 'Screen off the mark in the second half, but with Mark McEldowney commanding at full-back for the winners - and Coyle's brilliance - they failed to engineer the goal they needed to get back into the game.

Jack and Shea Cassidy replied with points for Slaughtneil and they never looked back, with captain Shea Cassidy adding a third goal after the second water break.

After the game, Michael James Groogan presented the Laurence Groogan memorial cup, named after his late father, to Shea Cassidy.

SLAUGHTNEIL: Conor Coyle; Eunan O'Hagan, Mark McEldowney, Oisséne O'Hagan; Dara McGuigan, Ruairi Ó Mianáin, Conaill Scullion; Rónán McNamee, Peter McCullagh; Peter Convery (1-1), Shéa Cassidy (1-6, 4f), Eunan Boylan; Eamon Cassidy (1-0), Jack Cassidy (0-3), Sé Gallagher
SUBS: Ruairi Mellon for S Gallagher (48), Martin McKenna for P Convery (54), Sé Logue for E Boylan (55), Rónán Ledgewood for C Scullion (55), Barney Cassidy for E Cassidy (55)

BALLINASCREEN: Aodan McCallion; Jamie Lee McGlade, Jack Conway, James Brunton; Caolan Fullerton, John McAllister, Ciaran McErlean; Ben O'Connor, Connor Shiels (0-2f); Luke Burns, Jack McBride, Dara O'Kane; Conor Murtagh (0-2), Fearghal Bradley, Ryan Henry
SUBS: James McDaid for J McBride (17), Riain O'Hagan for C McErlean (30), Setanta Gribben for J Brunton (54), Conor Boyle for R Henry (54),

REF: Malachy McToal (Newbridge)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.