18 May 2022

Derry SFC championship Slaughtneil comfortable winners at home to Claudy

Sammy Bradley and Shane McGuigan share 1-14 of the winners' total

Derry championship top scorers

Shane McGuigan scored 1-7 for the champions. (Pic: Mary K Burke)

Slaughtneil were winners over Claudy with the minimum of fuss at Emmet Park on Friday night.


Slaughtneil 2-18
Claudy 0-3

Shane McGuigan and Christopher Bradley each scored 0-7 for the champions who passed up a series of other chances over the hour.

A goal from Sean Cassidy set the tone in the second minute. After a strong run forward, he took a return pass from 'Sammy' Bradley before finishing past Ryan Mercer. Cassidy added a point, followed by two from Shane McGuigan before the visitors got off the mark.

Paul Bradley's side were 1-7 to 0-2 ahead at the water break, with Claudy scoring their final point of the game in the 20th minute.

A fine Cormac O'Doherty score from a tight angle put Slaughtneil 1-9 to 0-3 ahead early in the second-half as their control continued.

With eight minutes remaining, Shane McGuigan scored the second goal of the game with Christopher Bradley again involved.

The Emmet's now face Lavey in the live streamed game in Round 2.

SLAUGHTNEIL: Antóin McMullan; Peadar Kearney, Brendan Rogers, Karl McKaigue; Seán Ó Caiside (0-1), Chrissy McKaigue, Keelan Feeney; Patsy Bradley, Padraig Cassidy; Sean Cassidy (1-1), Cormac O'Doherty (0-1), Ronan Bradley; Christopher Bradley (0-7, 4f), Shane McGuigan (1-7, 4f), Brian Cassidy (0-1)
SUBS: Sé McGuigan, Fionnbharr McGuigan, Brendan McEldowney, Mark McGuigan, Francis McEldowney

CLAUDY: Ryan Mercer; Lee O'Kane, Cory Armstrong, Ross Stevenson; Conor Donaghy, Conor Johnston (0-1), Aaron Donaghy Jnr; Aaron Donaghy (0-1), Eoin McGahon (0-1); Paddy Hargan, Oran Armstrong, Shane McGahon; Stephen Farren, Conor Gormley, Liam Connolly
SUB: Joe Polley

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.