18 May 2022

McCluskey goal cements Magherafelt's win at Ballinascreen

Emmett McGuckin scored his first point of the season

McCluskey goal cements Magherafelt's win at Ballinascreen

Conor McCluskey scored Magherafelt's goal in the final quarter. (Pic: Oliver McVeigh/Sportsfile)

A goal from Conor McCluskey in the final quarter cemented victory for Magherafelt at Dean McGlinchey Park on Sunday afternoon.


Magherafelt 1-14
Ballinascreen 1-5
The 2019 county champions were four points ahead early on with Niall Higgins (2), Cormac Murphy and Shane Heavron all on target.

It took 10 minutes for the home team to register their opening score and it came from a long-range free by Ronan McKenna.

Noel Rafferty added the second six minutes later with a close range free to make the score 0-4 to 0-2 at the first water break.

Rafferty added a third 'Screen point from a 30 metre free after being fouled himself. Heavron was on target with three points as the Rossa pushed into a 0-7 to 0-3 interval lead.

McKenna added his second long range free for 'Screen seven minutes into the second-half after Ryan Doyle had been fouled.

Heavron, Higgins and wing-back Conor Kearns extended the lead but the home team got a goal just before water break.

Noel Rafferty powered the ball to the net after a Conor McKenna shot had been blocked on the stroke of the water break.

The final quarter belonged to the visitors with points from Emmett McGuckin and substitutes Coyle and McElhone supplementing a Conor McCluskey goal.

There was another appearance for Dan Higgins from the bench, with Eoin McEvoy making his senior debut in the final quarter.

MAGHERAFELT: Odhran Lynch; Simon McErlain, Giuseppe Lupari, Johnny McErlain; Conor McCluskey (1-0), Ryan Ferris, Conor Kearns (0-1); Jared Monaghan, Michael McEvoy, Paddy McLarnon, Niall Higgins (0-3), John Young; Shane Heavron (0-6, 2f), Emmett McGuckin (0-1), Cormac Murphy (0-1) 
SUBS: Dan Higgins, Antone McElhone (0-1), Caolin Coyle (0-1), Eoin McEvoy, Joe Keenan

BALLINASCREEN: Niall McGlade; Michael McShane, Ronan Murphy, Ronan Devlin; Ryan Doyle, Aaron Bradley, Daire Kelly; Paul Burns, Anton Scullion; Noel Rafferty (1-3, 3f), Conor McKenna, Ronan McKenna (0-2f); John McAllister, Dermot McBride, Caoilte McAlinden
SUBS: Carlus McWilliams, Philip Bradley, Gary Conway, Ciaran Doyle, Micheál Murray

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.