16 May 2022

Cathair Dhoire pay the penalty in dramatic conclusion to MacRory clash

Late Swinburne strike sends Carrickmacross through

Cathair Dhoire  pay the penalty dramatic conclusion to MacRory clash


Patrician HS, Carrickmacross.......1-10
Cathair Dhoire...............................1-9

For the second year running, Cathair Dhoire’s season ended in heartbreak.

Last year’s McLarnon beaten finalists had found the transition to MacRory a hard one to adjust to, but when the chips were down in Thursday night’s round one eliminator with the experienced Patrician High School, they bared their teeth.

It was the epitome of a game of two halves, thanks in no small part to Celtic Park’s trademark strong breeze and swirling rain. The Monaghan men had it at their backs in the first period and raced into a 0-7 to no score lead, pinning Cathair Dhoire back. They held firm, however, and a late scrappy goal meant plenty of half-time hope at 0-9 to 1-2.

Patrician opened the second-half scoring four minutes in, but that was to be their last until a game-winning penalty in added time.

- ALSO Cathair Dhoire winning start to MacRory Cup

Despite the wind having died down, the Derry amalgamation showed their character. They won their individual battles, played positive football and worked hard for one another. Led by the scoring boot of Cahir McMonagle they slowly chipped away at the deficit until, with eight minutes to go, they grabbed the lead for the first time through Jack Boyce.

When Ryan Kennedy was dismissed for a second yellow minutes later it seemed that was that, but Donnach Swinburne was Carrickmacross’ hero with a well struck spot kick to send them through by the narrowest of margins.

PATRICIAN: Ciaran O’Reilly, Conor Cumiskey, Shane Hanratty, Ronan Grimes (0-1), Harry Corscadden, Jack McGeown, Kyle Connolly (0-2), Ryan Kennedy, Ciaran Finnegan, Ryan Farrelly (0-2), Sean Jones (0-3, 2f), Dylan Byrne, Oisin O’Hanlon (0-1), Liam McDonald (0-1), Donnach Swinburne (1-0 pen).
SUBS: Diarmaid Marron for H Corscadden (HT), Cormac Sheedy for O O’Hanlon (51), Joe Kirk for C O’Reilly (54), John Oates for K Connolly (59), Cian Conlon for D Swinburne (62), Daniel McCahey for R Farrelly (65).

CATHAIR DHOIRE: Adam Harrigan, Thomas Logue, Naoise Ó Mianáin, Padhraig Nelis, Caolan O’Kane, Shane McElhinney, Michael Lynch, Conaire Molloy, Oran McMenamin (0-1f), Jack Boyce (0-2), Shea Browne, Tiarnan O’Connor (0-1), Cahir McMonagle (0-5, 4f), Jude Óg Moore (1-0), Liam Connolly.
SUB: Mark McGilligan for M Lynch (INJ 60).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login
Derry GAA

Conor Doherty of Derry, celebrates his side's third goal, scored by Benny Heron, during the Ulster GAA Football Senior Championship Semi-Final match between Derry and Monaghan at the Athletic Grounds.

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.