18 May 2022

Ballinascreen hurlers' eye for goal makes the difference against Coleraine

Michael Kennedy and John McCloskey each take their goal tallies to four for the season

Ballinascreen hurlers' eye for goal makes the difference against Coleraine

John McCloskey notched his fourth goal of the season. (Pic: Brendan McTaggart)

Goals from Michael Kennedy and John McCloskey made the difference as Ballinascreen overcame Coleraine for an away win that keeps the pressure on leaders Lavey.

The Erin's Own men were winners over 'Screen a week earlier to maintain their unbeaten run and had a bye on Wednesday night.


Ballinascreen 3-15
Coleraine 0-15

Ballinascreen, with the wind at their backs, were very wasteful with a host of wides against a Coleraine team that relied on ace scorer Sean McGoldrick and Dara Mooney to keep the scoreboard ticking over.

The sides were level (0-5 each) after 18 minutes. The home side then had a spell of dominance adding five unanswered points, Sean Leo McGoldrick and Dara Mooney with two each while Kosta Papachristopoulos added the fifth by the 28th minute.

Ballinascreen finished the half strongly and Michael Kennedy grabbed his first goal before half-time to leave matters level at the break, 1-8 to 0-11.

The second half began with a deluge of rain and a second Ballinascreen goal. After a save by the home 'keeper, John McCloskey was on hand from the rebound to notch a goal and put 'Screen 2-11 to 0-11 ahead

Sean Leo McGoldrick and Papachristopoulos tagged on further scores, but Kennedy scored his second goal to finish the game off a tight game in which Ballinascreen's eye for goal was the difference.

BALLINASCREEN: Marty Mulgrew; Malachy Toner, Daire Kelly, Ronan McKenna; Caoilte McAlinden, Oran Cleary, Hugh Pat Kelly; John McCloskey (1-0), Eamonn Conway (0-1); Reece McSorley (0-5, 4f), Aaron Kelly (0-2), Noel Rafferty (0-3); Ciaran McBride (0-1), Michael Kennedy (2-0), Shane Grant (0-2)
SUB: Cormac Gough (0-1)

COLERAINE: Leo Passmore; Paul Roantree, Ciaran Lagan, Conor Boyle; Sanny McGarry, Lorcan McMullen, Ciaran McGoldrick; Kosta Papachristopoulos (0-2), Niall Holly; Ciaran Lenehan, Sean Leo McGoldrick (0-8, 1f), Kieran Lagan; Franz Hoeritzauer, Dara Mooney (0-5), Finn McEwan
SUB: Aidan Boyle

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.