Ulster GAA continue search for 'Coach of the Year'

Is there someone you wish to nominate?

Ballinascreen's Ashelene Groogan

Ashelene Groogan receiving her award in 2016

The nominations’ deadline for the Coach of the Year ends next week, as Ulster GAA – in conjunction with Translink - begin the search for this year’s winner.
Ballinascreen’s Ashelene Groogan has held the title in recent seasons, with her club getting a free kit and free transport.
Nominations can be made by logging on to the website before 12noon on Wednesday, November 6. 

Now in its third year, the initiative celebrates the work carried out by volunteer club coaches and managers across the province, recognising their outstanding contribution to Gaelic games and local communities here.
The awards are free to enter and club coaches from across every code and level in Ulster are eligible.
Following public nominations, a panel of experts including Paddy Tally and Irish News Sports Columnist, Neil Loughran will select one finalist from each county to go forward to a public vote.
The overall winner will be announced at the Ulster Football Senior Club Championship Final and will receive a specially commissioned kit for themselves, and free coach travel for their team, courtesy of Translink.


If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email or at any time.

Read more from Derry Now.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Derry News and the County Derry Post here for instant access to Derry's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Derry with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.