17 May 2022

McGill goal settles topsy-turvy senior reserve final

Lavey ended a 34-year wait for the senior reserve championship title.

McGill goal settles topsy-turvy senior reserve final

Slaughtneil launch a hopeful ball into the Lavey box during the closing moments. Pic by Brendan McTaggart.




A late Ryan McGill goal saw Lavey end a 34-year wait for a reserve championship title at Owenbeg last week, exacting a modicum of revenge for their senior defeat to Slaughtneil a few weeks ago.

It took extra time to separate their respective senior sides, and last night's game had hints of a repeat before McGill punched to the net in the 56th minute.

Lavey had taken an early lead through a well-taken Ryan Mulholland goal, but the Emmet's had worked their way back to take a 0-6 to 1-1 lead into the half time break.

At the start of the second period, Erin's Own roared back, firing over 0-5 without reply before the water break broke the momentum and allowed Slaughtneil to rally.

They levelled the game with a Shea Cassidy screamer with ten minutes to go, and had surfed the momentum to go ahead, but McGill's goal proved a sucker punch with four minutes remaining.

Slaughtneil launched a late bombardment of the Lavey box, but the defence held firm to allow captain Colm Dillon to lift their first reserve championship title in 34 years.

*Full report and pics in Tuesday's County Derry Post

SLAUGHTNEIL: Conaill Scullion, Peadar Kearney, Michael McEldowney, Sean Tomas McErlane, Francis McEldowney, Brendan McEldowney, Bernard Mellon, Jack Cassidy (0-4f), Prionsias Burke (0-1), Fergal Bradley (0-1), Peter McCullagh, Darragh Mulholland, Francis McEldowney (0-1), Shea Cassidy (1-1), Oisín O'Doherty

SUBS: Dara McGuigan for Conaill Scullion (37), James McCloskey for Oisín O'Doherty (45), Brian Óg Corbett for Sean Tomas McErlane (55), Sean O'Doherty for Darragh Mulholland (56)

LAVEY: Eoin Mulholland, Sean Toner, Michael Mulholland, Ruairí McGurk, Nathan Scullion, Michael Drumm (0-1), Ryan Farren, Damian Chivers, Caolan McGurk, Dara McPeake, Shane McGill (0-1), Raymond Duggan, Colm Dillon, Ryan McGill (1-3, 0-3f), Ryan Mulholland (1-3)

SUBS: Ciaran Hendry for Raymond Duggan (39), Anthony McGurk for Dara McPeake (43), Dermot O'Neill for Nathan Scullion (39)

REF: Terence McGilligan (Slaughtmanus)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.