28 May 2022

Derry face relegation battle after defeat to Kildare

Johnny Byrne was on fire at Hawkfield

AHL: Kildare trounce Derry

KIldare Captain Brien Bryne in action against Derry during the National Hurling League game played at Hawkfield

It was a second straight defeat for Derry as they went down to Christy Ring champions Kildare on Sunday in Hawkfield.

It was Johnny Byrne's hat-trick of goals that did the damage, leaving Derry not in a relegation battle at the bottom of Division 2B.

Byrne’s final contribution of 3-4 supplemented additional three-pointers by James Burke and Conor Dowling as Kildare made it two wins from as many games in Division 2B.

Despite the scoring prowess of Derry full-forward Brian Cassidy, the influence of Paul Divilly and Brian Byrne ensured Kildare held a slender 0-6 to 0-5 lead at the first half water break. The sides were level on no fewer than six occasions during the opening period, but David Herity’s Lilywhites eventually created daylight.

Superb goals from James Burke and Johnny Byrne in the 29th and 31st minutes respectively propelled Kildare towards a 2-10 to 0-10 interval cushion.

Another brace of Johnny Byrne majors followed shortly after the resumption to place the final outcome beyond all doubt. For the second week in succession Conor Dowling bagged a goal as a substitute and while Cassidy rattled the net late on for the Oak Leaf men, it could do little to dampen the mood within the Kildare camp.

KILDARE: Paddy McKenna; Cathal Derivan, Rian Boran, Simon Leacy; Kevin Whelan, Declan Flaherty, Sean Christianseen; Cathal Dowling, Paul Divilly (0-3); Kevin Aherne, James Burke (1-1), Johnny Byrne (3-4); Tadhg Forde (0-1), Jack Sheridan (0-2f), Brian Byrne (0-3f)
SUBS: Shane Ryan (0-1) for Cathal Dowling (30), Conor Dowling (1-0) for T Forde, David Slattery (0-1) for Sheridan (both 47), Cathal McCabe for Aherne (49), Colm Chan (0-1) for Divilly, Cian Forde for Christanseen (both 57), Cian Shanahan for Burke (64)

DERRY: Oisin O’Doherty; Conor Kelly, Brian Óg McGilligan, Darragh McCloskey; Sean Cassidy, John Mullan (0-1), Meehaul McGrath; Eoghan Cassidy, Gerald Bradley; Mark McGuigan, Cormac O’Doherty (0-4, 3f, 1 '65'), Richie Mullan; Odhran McKeever, Brian Cassidy (1-7, 2 sidelines), Se McGuigan (0-1)
SUBS: Shea Cassidy (0-1) for McKeever (47), Conor McAllister for R Mullan (55), Deaghlan Foley for McGuigan (58)

REF: Kevin Jordan (Tipperary)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.