26 May 2022

GAA: Derry handed home draw in 2020 Ulster Senior Football Championship

Derry GAA

Derry will take on Armagh in the 2020 Ulster Senior Football Championship opener, following Wednesday morning's draw.

The Oakleafers will be under new boss Rory Gallagher and will be searching for their Ulster SFC win since edging out Down in 2015, in Brian McIver's last year in charge.

The last time Derry reached an Ulster Final, in 2011, they were 3-14 to 1-11 semi--final winners over Armagh under John Brennan.

Derry: D Devlin, SL McGoldrick (0-1), K McGuckin, D McBride, B Óg McAlary, C Kielt (0-1), M Bateson, J Diver, M Friel, M Lynch (1-2), J Kielt, B McGoldrick, E Muldoon, E Bradley (1-5, 2f), C Gilligan (1-5, 5f).

Subs: C Mullan for B McAlary, C O’Boyle for E Muldoon, E McGuckin for E Bradley, C McGoldrick for M Lynch


Armagh: P Hearty, A Mallon, B Donaghy, K Dyas, A Kernan (0-1), C McKeever, V Martin, K Toner, C Vernon (0-1), T Kernan, BJ Padden, M Mackin, M O’Rourke (1-1), S McDonnell 0-6 (3f, 1 ’45), J Clarke (0-1).
Subs: J Lavery for V Martin, P Duffy (0-1) for K Dyas, D McKenna for BJ Padden, B Mallon for M O’Rourke, J Murtagh for T Kernan

2020 Draw

Preliminary Round
(1) - Cavan v Monaghan

(2) - Donegal v Tyrone
(3) - Derry v Armagh
(4) - Antrim v Winner 1
(5) - Fermanagh v Down

2 v 3
4 v 5

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.