McMullen goals help seal Loreto's path to the next round of the McLarnon Cup

Loreto dig deep after Castlewellan's early second-half burst

Loreto cruise to victory over St Louis

The Loreto McLarnon Cup squad pictured before their group game over St Louis.


Loreto Coleraine..................3-12
St Malachy's Castlewellan.....2-6

They were made to dig themselves out of trouble, but a slicker and more disciplined Loreto side booked their place in round two of the qualifiers with victory over St Malachy's Castlewellan on Thursday afternoon.

The winners led by double scores (2-6 to 1-3) at half-time, thanks to goals from Odhran McLarnon and Lorcen McMullen.

Loreto were the dominant force and should've been further ahead, only for Ben Dillon's penalty going straight at goalkeeper McVeigh before the same player missed from the rebound.

It was all change after the break.  Majestic points for Jamie McKee and Ciaran Lundy was followed by a close-range 35th minute goal from Eoin McEvoy and it was game on.

A free from the skipper Dara Mooney and a point from Lorcan McMullen settled Loreto.

 - ALSO Loreto's win over St Louis Ballymena...

Referee Martin Conroy warned two players from either side, as tempers began to fray in the midst of a cross-field wind and driving rain.

Ciaran Lundy was sent to the sin-bin in the 48th minute for a late tackle which provided Mooney the chance to open a three point gap.

Lorcan McMullen finished the game as a contest with a 54th minute goal, which began with a strong run through the middle from Michael Óg McKeown.

To cap it off, substitute Conn Kilmartin tagged on a point to secure Sean Murtagh's side's passage to a meeting with Aquinas in round two.

 - POLL Who was man of the match?  Vote here...

LORETO: Leo Passmore; Cathair McCloskey, Charlie Dempsey, Eoghan Gormley; Connor Mullan, Eoin McKeever, Ronan Close; Cillian Calvert, Kosta Papachristopolous; Emmett Morrison, Odhran McLarnon (1-2), Michael Óg McKeown (0-1); Dara Mooney (0-6, 5f), Lorcan McMullen (2-1), Ben Dillon (0-1).
SUBS: Conn Kilmartin (0-1) for C Calvert (38), Sean Scullion for B Dillon (62), Cathal Bradley for R Close (62).

CASTLEWELLAN: Miceal McVeigh; Cailum Madine, Oran McCrickard, Patrick Kelly-McEvoy; Ryan Tumilty, Gareth Fitzpatrick, Peter O'Hare (1-0); Joseph O'Boyle, Oisin Doran; Ciaran Lundy (0-1), Jamie McKee (0-3, 1f), Conor Mathews; Caolán Burns (0-2, 1f), Eoin McEvoy (1-0), Ryan Morgan.
SUBS: Reece Doyle for R Tumilty (38), Morgan Croskery for C Mathews (46), Tiarnan Devlin (55), Jerome Travers for P Kelly-McEvoy (65).

SIN BIN: C Lundy (48-58).
YELLOW CARD: C Burns (52).

REF: Martin Conroy (Moy).

Full report and interview with manager Sean Murtagh in Tuesday's County Derry Post.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email or at any time.

Read more from Derry Now.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Derry News and the County Derry Post here for instant access to Derry's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Derry with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.