St Patrick's & St Brigid's Claudy remain on course for back to back titles

Early McGonagle goal put them on track

St Patrick's & St Brigid's Claudy remain on course for back to back titles


St Patrick's & St Brigid's Claudy 1-7
St Aidan's Cootehill 1-2

Holders St Patrick's and St Brigid's Claudy had made it through to the semi-finals following their 1-7 to 1-2 win over St Aidan's Cootehill on Thursday afternoon at MUSA in Cookstown.

An early Niall McGonagle goal got Claudy off to a dream start, helping them into a 1-3 to 0-2 interval lead.

The Derry side kept control for the rest of the game, with the Cavan men hitting a consolation goal late on.

Claudy face De La Salle Downpatrick in the semi-final.

Claudy scorers: Niall McGonagle (1-6) and Jack Kelly (0-1).

Claudy squad: Cahir Melaugh, Caolan McKinney Slaughtmanus, Oran Carton (Slaughtmanus), Ben Cooke (Dungiven), Daniel Johnston (Claudy), Conor Donaghy (Claudy), Jack McGee (Slaughtmanus), Adam Murphy (Faughanvale), Oisin Kearns-Madden (Claudy), Cahir Gormley (Slaughtmanus), Niall McGonagle (Dungiven), Jack Kelly (Doire Trasna), Tiarnan O’Connor (Foreglen),Sea Watson (Foreglen), Rian McCormick Slaughtmanus), Jamie McCloskey (Claudy), Fergal O’Kane (Craigbane), Ruairi O’Neill (Claudy), James Donaghy (Claudy), Niall Barr Slaughtmanus), Tom Quirk (Banagher), Owen Murphy (Slaughtmanus), Keelin Hasson (Banagher), Connor Davies (Claudy), David Moore (Claudy)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email or at any time.

Read more from Derry Now.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Derry News and the County Derry Post here for instant access to Derry's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Derry with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.