28 May 2022

Na Magha Coach is finalist in Translink Ulster GAA Coach of the Year awards

Sean Mellon nominated for coaching award

Na Magha Coach is finalist in Translink Ulster GAA Coach of the Year awards

Na Magha's Sean Mellon – Finalist in the Translink Ulster GAA Coach of the Year awards.

Sean Mellon, a coach from Derry based hurling club Na Magha is a finalist in the Translink Ulster GAA Coach of the Year awards.

Ballinascreen's Ashelene Groogan won the award in 2017 and now in its third year, a record number of public nominations were submitted by club members across Ulster.

Representing Derry, Sean is one of nine outstanding volunteer coaches who have been selected from their respective counties.

A panel of experts including current Manager of the Down Senior Football team, Paddy Tally, Ulster GAA’s Director of Coaching & Games, Eugene Young and Irish News Sports Columnist, Neil Loughran, shortlisted nine finalists, with the help of Translink’s Pat Maguire.

The decision now rests with the public; voting is now open. The overall winner will receive free coach travel for their team and specially commissioned Coach of the Year athletic gear.

The finalists are:

Antrim – Paul Buchanan - Lámh Dhearg, Belfast
Armagh – Rosie McMahon – Silverbridge Harps
Cavan - Fiachra Sweeney - Castlerahan
Donegal - Laurence McMullan – St Mary’s, Convoy
Derry – Sean Mellon – Na Magha
Down – Sonia Kinsella - St Patricks, Saul
Fermanagh – Brendan Rasdale – Derrygonnelly Harps
Monaghan – Jaime Black - Latton O’Rahilly’s
Tyrone – Paddy O’Neill - Derrytresk Fir An Chnoic

 “The development of young people in clubs across the country is thanks to those coaches and managers who donate countless hours to their clubs on a voluntary basis," commented Down senior manager Paddy Tally.

"This doesn’t just stop at youth teams but carries right through to a senior level. I am delighted to play my part in the Coach of the Year campaign, and congratulations to the nine coaches who have been shortlisted. Good luck for the final stages.”

Voting for the Translink Ulster GAA Coach of the Year is now open.

Click here to cast your vote. Voting closes at 11.59pm on Sunday, November 24.

The winner will be announced on Sunday, December 1 at the Senior Club Football Championship final.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.