23 May 2022

WATCH: Kevin Kelly's reaction to Ballinascreen lifting the Derry minor hurling title

'Screen hit seven points on the bounce to see off Dungannon


Ballinascreen 0-17 Dungannon 0-10

Seven unanswered points in the final quarter helped Ballinascreen see off a stern Dungannon challenge in Wednesday's decider under lights on home soil.

After losing the last two finals, it was a first minor hurling title since 2009 with a team performance worthy of the title.

From goalkeeper Aodhan McCallion to the four substitutes introduced when the game hung in the balance, they put their shoulder to the wheel.

Dungannon beat Ballinascreen in an All-Ireland Féile final, when last year's minor team were in the U14 grade, and there has never been much between the sides.

The Tyrone men ousted champions Lavey in the semi-final, with 'Screen accounting for Slaughtneil.

A Connor Shiels run in the opening minute set Lee Colville up for an early score, as 'Screen took the early control.

The home side played Lorcan McAlinden, listed at corner forward, at centre back and it allowed Jack Conway to play as a sweeper.  Conway mopped up a series of Dungannon attacks in the first quarter, but a wasteful attack spurned chances that should've had them further ahead than a five-point lead, which they held on two separate occasions.

John McAllister had a fine game on Dungannon ace Cain Ferguson and later Jack Conway shored their defence.

In attack, Conor Murtagh - who played slightly ahead of inside duo Colville and Aodhan O'Hagan - gave Dungannon plenty of problems with his pace.

Dungannon made a surge back into the game and 'Screen were just two ahead at the break (0-9 to 0-7).

Colville swung over in the early exchanges of the second half before Dungannon had their spell.  Ferguson (2) and Ronan Molloy tied the game, but they could never get their noses in front.

Dara O'Kane freshened up the 'Screen attack, with Caolan Fullerton adding some extra steel to their defence.

Two Eoin McCallion frees edged 'Screen ahead, before Murtagh, Colville and Shiels added late points as they pulled clear in the end.

In the B final, Kevin Lynch's were 2-17 to 4-10 winners over Na Magha in a cracking game at Banagher.

BALLINASCREEN: Aodhan McCallion; Ciaran McErlean, John McAllister, James Brunton; Jack Conway; Mícheál Murray, Lorcan McAlinden, Andy McBride; Eoin McCallion (0-6, 5f), Connor Shiels (0-1f); Dermot Burns (0-1), Ryan Henry (0-1); Conor Murtagh (0-3); Lee Colville (0-4), Aodhan O'Hagan (0-1)
SUBS: Conan Bradley for C McErlean (41), Caolan Fullerton for A O'Hagan (41), Dara O'Kane for D Burns (41), Ronan McWilliams for C Murtagh (54)

DUNGANNON:Conal Molloy; Eoghan Orr, Fionn Devlin, Cain McCorry; Harry Morgan, Jack Donnelly, Mark McCann; Conor Fitzgerald, Ronan Molloy (0-3); Josh Campbell, Adam Toner, Sean Paul McKernan; Jason McAleer, Cain Ferguson (0-7, 4f), Turlough Mullin
SUBS: Conrad McKeown for J Campbell (HT), Josh Campbell for A Toner (61)

REF: Owen Elliott (Antrim)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.