26 May 2022

AE22 EAST DERRY: Final list of election candidates confirmed

Nominations for selection closed this evening.

EAST DERRY: Final list of election candidates confirmed

A selection of the candidates for East Derry.

AE22 EAST DERRY: Final list of election candidates confirmed

With the window for nominations to contest the 2022 NI Assembly Election now closed, the final list of candidates competing for a seat in East Derry can be confirmed.

There will be at least one new face on the benches come May 6, with veteran DUP member George Robinson opting to retire from politics and not contest the latest election.

Robinson's son Alan will replace him as a selected candidate for the poll as the DUP hope to hold onto their two seats in the constituency.

Causeway Coast and Glens Borough councillor Kathleen McGurk will be Sinn Féin's second candidate, alongside Caoimhe Archibald, who is hoping to be returned.

Co-opted in 2020, the SDLP's Cara Hunter will be heading into her first election, while Independent Claire Sugden is also hoping to be re-elected to Stormont.

Click NEXT to view the Assembly Election 2022 candidates for Mid Ulster.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.