18 May 2022

Derry's Matthew Downey named 'Footballer of the Year'

Six Derry players named in 'Team of the Year'

Derry Minors

Matthew Downey was a key figure in Derry's Ulster and All-Ireland successes.

Derry's All Ireland winning minor captain, Matthew Downey, has been crowned Electric Ireland Minor Footballer of the Year.

Downey is also one of six follow Oak Leaf All Ireland winners on the 'Team of the Year', which was announced yesterday.

The captain showed incredible calm to score a last-gasp penalty to win last week's All Ireland title in dramatic fashion against Kerry to end a stunning year for Martin Boyle's team in the most memorable of fashions.

Goalkeeper Kian McGonigle has been a key figure in Derry's Ulster and All-Ireland successes this season and he is named alongside Derry men Lee Brady, Eoin McEvoy, Mark Doherty and Lachlan Murray.

"Electric Ireland, proud sponsors of the GAA Minor Championships, is pleased to spotlight 15 outstanding performers from the 2020 Minor Football season, unveiling the 2020 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Football Team of the Year and the Electric Ireland Minor Football Player of the Year," said a spokesperosn for Electric Ireland.

"Despite the Covid-19 pandemic, which caused many delays to the season, the 2020 Electric Ireland Minor Football Championship proved to be an exciting championship and an excellent showcase of the young talent in the GAA."

The remainder of the 'Minor Team of the Year' features four players from All-Ireland finalists, Kerry, two from Leinster champions Meath and one each from Monaghan, Offaly and Roscommon.

The team was selected by a panel of GAA experts and was determined in part by Electric Ireland’s ‘Player of the Week’ initiative on Twitter.

2020 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Football Team of the Year: Kian McGonigle (Derry and Dungiven), Liam Kelly (Meath and Ratoath), Lee Brady (Derry and Bellaghy), Dara O’Callaghan (Kerry and Kilcummin), Oisín Maunsell (Kerry and Na Gaeil), Eoin McEvoy (Derry and Magherafelt), Cathal Ryan (Offaly and Daingean), Connor Eccles (Monaghan and Cremartin), Paudie O’Leary (Kerry and Gneeveguilla), Mark Doherty (Derry and Newbridge), Matthew Downey (Derry and Lavey), Keith Evans (Kerry and Keel), Conor Hand (Roscommon and St Brigid’s). Lachlan Murray (Derry and Desertmartin), Eoghan Frayne (Meath and Summerhill).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.