28 Sept 2022

Assembly Election: Foyle constituency count resumes this morning

Three seats still to be filled

Assembly Election: Foyle constituency count resumes this morning

Sinn Fein's Padraig Delargy is congratulated by party colleague Ciara Ferguson after being elected, topping the poll.

Counting in the Foyle constituency in the Stormont Assembly election will resume at the Magherafelt count centre this morning with three of the five seats still to be filled.

Outgoing MLAs, Sinn Fein's Padraig Delargy and the SDLP's Mark H Durkan, slept well last night after they were both elected on the first count, with the Sinn Fein candidate topping the poll.

Sinn Fein's Ciara Ferguson looks set to join her party colleague while Mr Durkan will be joined by either Sinead McLaughlin or Brian Tierney.

The fifth seat should be filled by either the DUP's Gary Middleton or Ulster Unionist Ryan McCready.

Sinn Fein are on course to being the largest party in the Assembly, meaning history will be made with the party's vice-president and Deputy First Minister, Michelle O'Neill, becoming the first nationalist to hold the top post since the state was formed 100 years ago.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.