18 May 2022

Referees announced for All-Ireland hurling weekend

Fergal Horgan appointed to senior final

Referees announced for All-Ireland hurling weekend

Fergal Horgan will take charge of this year's All-Ireland hurling final (Pic: Ray McManus/Sportsfile)

Tipperary's Fergal Horgan will referee next weekend's All-Ireland senior hurling final clash of Waterford and Limerick, with Galway whistler Liam Gordan taking charge of the Joe McDonagh Cup final between Antrim and Kerry.

The GAA has confirmed all their match officials for the final weekend of the championship season.

It is a second senior final for Horgan, having previously refereed the 2017 Final between Galway and Waterford.

Liam Gordon, who will be officiating the Joe McDonagh Cup, has refereed two senior hurling championship fixtures – Tipperary v Limerick and Wexford v Clare.

Sunday, December 13

Senior Final - Waterford v Limerick
Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)
Stand By: Colm Lyons (Cork)
Linesman: Paud O’Dwyer (Carlow)
Sideline: Seán Cleere (Kilkenny)
Umpires: John Ryan, Alan Horgan, Mick Butler, and Sean Bradshaw

Joe McDonagh Cup - Antrim v Kerry
Referee: Liam Gordon (Galway)
Stand By: Seán Stack (Dublin)
Linesman: Patrick Murphy (Carlow)
Sideline: Thomas Gleeson (Dubin)
Umpires: Damien Gibbons, Alan MaClearn, Cian Ryan and Timmy Forde

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.