20 May 2022

Sé McGuigan named in Champion 15 team of 2019

Emmet's forward rewarded for 2-8 tally in Derry's attack

Sé McGuigan named in Champion 15 team of 2019

Sé McGuigan was named on the Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher Champion 15. (Pic: John Merry)

Slaughtneil and Derry forward Sé McGuigan has been named on the Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher Champion 15 and picked up his award at the All-Star banquet in Dublin on Friday night.
McGuigan scored 2-8 in the Christy Ring Cup, which ended with Derry losing out in the semi-final to eventual winners Meath.
Banagher's Brian Óg McGilligan was also among the list of nominations.
It is the first year of a combined team between the competitions.  Cormac O'Doherty and Cian Waldron were named in last year's Christy Ring team of the year.
In 2017, following Derry's Nicky Rackard success, Brendan Rogers, Darragh McCloskey, Paul Cleary, Sean Cassidy and Gerald Bradley were all selected in the Nicky Rackard team of the season.

Sé being presented with his award by John Horan and GPA Chairman
Seamus Hickey.  (Pic: Brendan Moran/Sportsfile)

This year's selection features seven players who competed in the Ring Cup, five who contested the Rackard
Cup and three who featured in the Meager Cup.
Ring Cup winners Meath and Rackard Cup Champions Sligo lead the way claiming three places each
on the 15-man selection.
Keith Keoghan, Seán Geraghty and Jack Regan are all acknowledged for their role in Meath’s
campaign, which ended in victory over Down.
The successful Sligo trio are James Weir, Keith Raymond and Gerard O’Kelly Lynch.
Down’s run to the Ring Cup final is rewarded with places for Daithí Sands and Caolan Taggart while
Meagher Cup winners Leitrim are honoured with spots for Enda Moreton and James Glancy.
The remaining positions go to Armagh, Tyrone, Derry, Wicklow and Lancashire.
GAA President John Horan praised all of those who have been honoured.
He said: “Tonight’s event is the big awards night in the GAA’s inter-county calendar and I laud the
contribution of all of the players who competed in our championships this year, but especially those
who set the standard and who will be honoured this evening.
“The players on the Champions 15 shortlist led the way and the respective roles they played in their
counties’ campaigns is one of the stand-out features about the tiered approach we have to our
hurling competitions.
“Well done to them all and best of luck in your future pursuit of silverware.”
The selection process has now evolved, with 45 players selected as Champion 15 nominees before a
list of 15 is confirmed.
The new selection process has introduced player and coach feedback and has been finalised by an
independent selection committee of journalists and referees.
Hurlers from the McDonagh Cup were considered alongside players from the GAA All-Ireland Senior
Hurling Championships with two of them making the list of All-Stars nominations.

Champion 15 Team 2019

1: Simon Doherty (Armagh) – Nicky Rackard Cup
2: Caolan Taggart (Down) – Christy Ring Cup
3: Keith Keoghan (Meath) – Christy Ring Cup
4: Enda Moreton (Leitrim) – Lory Meagher Cup
5: James Weir (Sligo) – Nicky Rackard Cup
6: James Glancy (Leitrim) – Lory Meagher Cup
7: John Henderson (Wicklow) – Christy Ring Cup
8: Keith Raymond (Sligo) – Nicky Rackard Cup
9: Sean Geraghty (Meath) – Christy Ring Cup
10: Jack Regan (Meath) – Christy Ring Cup
11: Gerard O’Kelly Lynch (Sligo) – Nicky Rackard Cup
12: Damian Casey (Tyrone) – Nicky Rackard Cup
13: Dáithi Sands (Down) – Christy Ring Cup
14: Ronan Crowley (Lancashire) – Lory Meagher Cup 
15: Sé McGuigan (Derry) – Christy Ring Cup  

Player of the Year:

Joe McDonagh Cup  Paddy Purcell - Laois
Christy Ring Cup Jack Regan - Meath
Nicky Rackard Cup Keith Raymond - Sligo
Lory Meagher Cup Ronan Crowley - Lancashire

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.