19 May 2022

AE22 MID ULSTER: Final list of election candidates confirmed

Nominations for selection closed this evening.

MID ULSTER: Final list of election candidates confirmed

A selection of the candidates for Mid Ulster.

AE22 MID ULSTER: Final list of election candidates confirmed

Predicted to be one of the more straightforward constituencies to call, Mid Ulster nominations closed this evening with 14 candidates on the ballot paper.

Sinn Féin held three seats in the area during the last mandate, including that of Deputy First Minister Michelle O'Neill. Their youngest candidate, Emma Sheerin, is facing into her first election, having been co-opted to replace Ian Milne.

Long-serving SDLP candidate Patsy McGlone will be hopeful of being returned to the Assembly, while the DUP's Keith Buchanan will hope to hold a unionist seat for the constituency, despite competition from the TUV and UUP candidates.

Click NEXT to view the Assembly Election 2022 candidates for Mid Ulster.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.