The draw for the Ulster Senior League has taken place with nine Derry clubs set to make their mark on the provincial tournament.

In the senior ranks, city club Steelstown are the Oak Leafers' sole representatives as Hugh McGrath's men look to go one step further than the semi final berth which the Óg's secured for themselves last March.  They have been grouped with last year's champions and their semi conquerors, Ardboe.

Glenullin and Slaughtneil will renew acquaintances in Group B whilst Craigbane and Faughanvale will do battle in the intermediate division along with an interesting group which sees border side Portglenone join Malin and north Tyrone sides Owen Roes and Urney.

Slaughtmanus and Desertmartin have been grouped together whilst Doire Trasna make their novel venture into the competition in preparation for another stab at the county's Division Two.  Brian McKenna's outfit are in along with Ballymaguigan.

There have been suggestions that the competition has lost popularity of late with eight further Derry sides withdrawing from the pre-season tournament but Ballinderry's absence - a side who have championed the format and reached the last two finals - is solely down to a clash with their All-Ireland club semi final with St. Vincents at the end of Ferbruary.

The Ulster League begins on Sunday February 2.


Group A - Steelstown, Bryansford, Ardboe, Sarsfields Derrytrasna, Doohamlet
Group B - Sigersons, Glenullin, Whitecross, Slaughtneil, Annaclone


Group A - Owen Roe O’Neill’s, Urney, Malin, Faughanvale, Portglenone, Craigbane
Group B - Derrylaughan, Aghaloo, Ballymaguigan, Newry Shamrocks, Doire Trasna, Iniskeen
Group C - Buncrana, St. John Bosco, Desertmartin, Slaughtmanus, Galbally, Dungannon Clarkes
Group D - Sean Mac Cumhaill, Castlederg, Edendork, Greenlough, Silverbridge

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.