Magherafelt based Rainey Endowed begin their Ulster Schools’ Cup campaign on Saturday at home to Portadown College (11.00).
Over the years the Rainey school teams have developed a proud tradition of stepping up to the mark when it comes to Ulster Schools’ Cup time.
The current squad will realise they will have to raise the bar once again when they meet Portadown College in the third round of the Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ Cup
Rainey are coached by Chris Campbell, himself a Schools' Cup winner with the school.  He is assisted by Chris Campbell, Charlie Simpson, Stu McCalmont as well as Ulster player Tommy O’Hagan.
Ulster Schools’ and U19 player, Bryn Davies, is the team captain and Bryn has led his team through to a great deal of success this season.
Recent morale boosting victories, as well as a training camp in Portugal prior to Christmas, have put the Rainey  squad into a very positive frame of mind as they finalise preparations for Portadown College-one of the few teams to have defeated them this season.
There are three sets of brothers playing in the Rainey Endowed School squad this season. Twins, Ryan and Matthew Brown are joined in the Rainey pack by Daniel and Sam Clarke.
In the back division, David and Matthew Dripps feature regularly with their try scoring exploits. The vital link between the Rainey Endowed School forwards and backs is Tim Campbell who is a son of the Rainey coach, Chris Campbell.
Jonathan Drennan and Harry Evans top the Rainey points scorers this season with their ability to score tries as well as kick for points.
"The squad contains a group of players who are hard-working and committed to improving themselves as players as well as individuals," commented a Rainey spokesperson.  "We would appreciate all support for this cup game and spectators are asked to park in the main school car park."

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.