David Parkhouse sent Derry City to their second EA Sports League Cup final in two years with a sensational hat trick against Waterford at the Brandywell.

Derry City 4

Waterford 2

After Extra Time

The teenage striker took his tally for the season to 15 in all competitions, and made it six goals in eight days to sink Alan Reynolds’ team at the end of a scintillating cup tie.

Waterford were gifted the opening goal midway through the first half when Darren Cole’s header backwards sold Nathan Gartside short and winger Walter Figueira nipped in ahead of the goalkeeper before rolling the ball into the net to open the scoring.

The hosts were level right on half time when Tom Holland foolishly barged Barry McNamee to the ground inside the area and referee Rob Rogers pointed to the penalty spot. David Parkhouse immediately placed the ball on the spot and fired home his fourth goal in a week to the relief of the hosts.

It was Derry who scored the crucial goal on 70 minutes and it was another brilliant moment for Parkhouse who received the ball from Michael McCrudden 25 yards from goal and rather than pass to Ciaran Coll on his left he sent a bullet drive past the despairing drive of Connor and into the bottom corner of the net.

But Waterford hit back with just six minutes remaining to take the game to extra time. Michael O’Connor evaded three Derry players on his way to finding Slevin on the left and his superb cross into the Derry penalty area was tapped home by a delighted Figueira who could not miss from six yards.

City took the lead for a second time in extra time, McDonagh’s sensational cross putting it on a plate for Parkhouse who bundled the ball in from close range to complete his hat trick.

Waterford’s task then became even more difficult when Robert Slevin fouled Jack Malone and was sent off for a second bookable offence.

This semi-final ended as a contest just after the restart when Jack Malone’s cross was turned into his own net by substitute Kevin Lynch.


Derry City: Nathan Gartside, Darren Cole, Ally Gilchrist, Eoin Toal, Ciaran Coll, Ciaron Harkin (Jack Malone 88’), Gerardo Bruna, Grant Gillespie (Greg Sloggett 62’), Barry McNamee (Michael McCrudden 62’), Jamie McDonagh, David Parkhouse (Aidy Delap 109’).

Waterford: Matthew Connor, Robert Slevin, Rory Feely, Kenny Browne, Maxim Kouogun, JJ Luney, Tom Holland (Kevin Lynch 106’), Zachary Elbouzedi (Cory Galvin 36’), Shane Duggan (Karolis Chvedukas 74’), Walter Figueira, Michael O’Connor (Dean Walsh 109’).

Referee: Robert Rogers.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.