DAMIAN McErlain announced his first team as Derry senior football manager ahead of Wednesday's clash with Ulster University at Celtic Park (8.00).

Nine of the starting team played under McErlain during his three year term as minor manager, with goalkeeper Oran Hartin and Seán McKeever also named in the 22 man squad.

Coleraine's Ruairi Mooney, a Sigerson winner with St Mary's last season, is poised to make his debut at corner back.  Jordan Curran is named in the defence and was part of Derry's U21 side last season.

The experience comes in the form of the returning Kevin Johnston, Ciaran McFaul and last year's captain Enda Lynn.

From the 29 man squad named for the 2018 season, Emmett Bradley, Niall Keenan (both QUB), Danny Tallon and Terence O'Brien (both UUJ) will play for their universities in the competition.

Padraig Cassidy, Shane McGuigan, Brendan Rogers, Paul McNeill, Karl and Chrissy McKaigue will be unavailable until at least February 24, due to Slaughtneil's All-Ireland campaigns.

Derry will face Armagh in the Athletic Grounds on Sunday (2.00) in their next game.  The NFL season begins with a home game against Westmeath at Celtic Park on Sunday, January 28.

TEAM (v Ulster University): Ben McKinless (Ballinderry), Conor McCluskey (Magherafelt), Kevin Johnston (Dungiven), Ruairi Mooney (Coleraine), Padraig McGrogan (Newbridge), Michael McEvoy (Magherafelt), Jordan Curran (Faughanvale), Jack Doherty (Glen), Patrick Kearney (Swatragh), Conor Doherty (Newbridge), Ciarán McFaul (Glen), Patrick Coney (Loup), Enda Lynn (Greenlough), Callum Brown (Limavady), Peter Hagan (Banagher).
SUBS: Oran Hartin (Limavady), Liam McGoldrick (Coleraine), Conor McAtamney (Swatragh), Mark Lynch (Banagher), Seán McKeever (Dungiven), Niall Toner (Lavey), James Kielt (Kilrea).

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.