St Patrick's Dungiven 6-5 St Patrick's Dungannon 3-11
Michael McMullan at MUSA

TWO Dara McGonigle goals in first-half stoppage time put St Patrick's Dungiven on track for Ennis Cup glory at a blowy MUSA on Friday.

Caolan Hazlett slotted home in the opening seconds in a move straight from the throw-in.  Shea Millar went close for a second minutes later.

It was Dungannon who dominated the rest of the half but Dungiven's defence kicked into action.  Shea Harkin cut out a series of attacks, with their full-back line of Eoin Kealey, Ciaran Devlin and Fearghal McIntyre in resolute form.

With the interval approaching, McGonigle grabbed two goals - putting Dungiven 3-2 to 0-3 ahead.

Early in the second-half Dungannon had a purple patch with a Jake Dillon point and a Bonamor Nammy goal.

The Tyrone side continued to dominate but Dungiven's defence were in unstoppable form.  Ciaran Devlin and goalkeeper Brandon Deeney prevented certain goals.

Patrick Purvis and Jake Dillon added scores to tie the game after 45 minutes 3-4 to 2-7.

The game began to turn with a Dylan Newland penalty, followed by a sweetly struck '45' from Caolan Hazlett.

With ten minutes to go Patrick Purvis was presented with a clear cut goal chance but Deeney made an acrobatic save - a massive moment in the game.  Five minutes later Hazlett's long ball flicked to the net at the other end putting Dungiven seven points ahead.

When Kenny Ximenes added a third Dungannon goal, the game was back in the meting pot.  In the seven minutes of stoppage time Dungiven were left hanging on before Shea Millar sealed the game with a late goal.

DUNGIVEN: Brandon Deeney, Eoin Kealey, Ciaran Devlin, Fearghal McIntyre, Odhran McAteer, Shea Harkin, Chad Deeney, Dara McGonigle (3-1, 1f), Cal Mullan, Ciaran O'Neill, Eoghan McCloskey, Shea Millar (1-0), Caihar O'Hara, Caolan Hazlett (1-4, 1f, 1 ‘45’), Dylan Newland (1-0 pen).
SUBS: Odhran Murphy for C O’Neill (47), Orin Duddy for S Millar (63).

DUNGANNON: Kornelijus Kuizinas, Anderson Lobato, Peter McGuinness, Cormac McGahan, Jack O’Callaghan, Conor Hughes, Riain McAshea, Kenny Ximenes (2-1), Ryan McIntosh (0-3), Shea Boyle (0-2), Patrick Purvis (0-1), Darragh McCann, Johnny Field, Declan Hanna, Bonamor Nammy (1-1).
SUBS:  Jake Dillon (0-3, 1f) for D Hanna (14), Shea Gates for J Field (45).

REF: Cathal Forbes (Ardboe).

Photos, report and reaction in Tuesday's County Derry Post.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.