Ballerin U14 girls ended the season with a victory in the County Camogie Shield in Swatragh on Sunday morning with a comprehensive victory over Na Magha. 

With ten of last week’s victorious U16 team at their disposal, the management team of Kirsty McCormick, Melinda Robinson, Ciara Lagan and Angeline O'Connell must have felt quietly confident going into this match.

From the throw in the Ballerin girls raced into a lead they were never to relinquish.  Eabha Mullan proved a real handful at full forward ending the game with 3-4.

Na Magha never got to grips with the game or Ballerin’s intensive tackling and blocking.  Played in torrential rain, the first half ended on a score line of 4-6 to 0-1.

The defensive unit of Orlaith Doherty, Aoife Wade, and Rose Doherty were never tested while full-back Orla Mullan scored 1-1 from two 45’s.

The half back line of Brianna Lagan, Emer Mullan and Clare McIntyre brushed aside any Na Magha challenges that came their way.

 The midfield partnership of Maggie Mc Cartney and Rhianna Doherty completely dominated their Na Magha counterparts.

Up front Erin Doherty, Annie Mullan, Megan McIntyre, Ellie McAfee, and Sinead O’Connell tortured the Na Magha defence.

Substitutes Madison Mc Gilligan and Grace Doherty also played their part with Lucia Higgins marking her debut at U14 with a goal.

The large group of supporters were delighted to witness County Chairperson Dympna Dougan make the presentation to the joint team captains Eabha Mullan and Orla Mullan.

Ballerin:  Orlaith Doherty, Aoife Wade, Orla Mullan (1-1) Rose Doherty, Brianna Lagan, Clare McIntyre (0-1), Emer Mullan, Rhianna Doherty (1-0), Maggie McCartney, Annie Mullan (1-1), Megan McIntyre (0-3), Sinead O'Connell (1-0), Ellie McAfee (2-0), Eabha Mullan (3-4), Erin Doherty.
Subs: Madison McGilligan, Lucia Higgins (1-0), Grace Doherty.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.