Ulster MFC Round 1
Derry 1-5 Armagh 0-4

It took a 52nd minute goal from Kilrea's PJ McAleese to seal Derry minors' spot in the winners' bowl for Monday's draw.

Derry can be drawn to play league champions Tyrone, beaten finalists Monaghan and Cavan, with the game scheduled for the weekend of May 11/12.

"We will be going home on the bus and we’ll not be celebrating anything here at all," said Derry boss Paddy Campbell after his side's win over Armagh.

"We have another very tough game against one of the other winners in the next round, it not going to be easy.

In a dour game, Derry played against the breeze in the first-half and trailed 0-3 to 0-1 despite having three goal chances in the opening half.

The Oakleafers missed three chances for points in the first eight minutes of the second-half, as Armagh held their lead.

Two Matthew Downey points, inside a minute, followed by a sublime PJ McAleese goal saw Derry pull through.

They still needed a James McGurk block to deny Armagh substitute Sean Rocks a late goal.


Derry: Padraig Hasson, Odhran McLarnon, Ronan McFaul, Jamie Duggan, James McGurk, Aidan McCluskey, Lee Brady, Tiernan Higgins, Oran McMenamin, Donncha Gilmore, PJ McAleese (1-0), Calum Downey, Enda Downey (0-3f), Matthew Downey (0-2, 1f), Shea McGuckin.
Subs: Marc Dixon for D Gilmore (37), Ryan Lennox for L Brady (INJ 40), Charlie Diamond for M Dixon (BC 42), Daniel Madden for C Downey (56), Adam McGonigle for O McLarnon (INJ 62), Jude Óg Moore for PJ McAleese (64).

Armagh: Shea Magill, Peter McGrane, Ryan Shortt, Odhran McKeown, Lee Rice, Sean McVerry, Redmond French, James Walsh, Dara O’Callaghan (0-1f), Michael McConville (0-1), Caolan Reavey, Sean Quigley, Mark McKeever, Ciaran Donnelly (0-1), Oisin King (0-1f).
Subs: Rory Kearney for S Quigley (28), Jack Cunningham for J Walsh (HT), Sean Rocks for C Donnelly (39), Adam Garvey for M McConville (44), Shea Vallely for R French (57), Niall Dummigan for L Rice (59).

Ref: Kieran Eannetta (Tyrone).

For full coverage, get Monday's Derry News and Tuesday's County Derry Post.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.