Derry SFC

Lavey 0-12 Greenlough 0-6

With six points from Cailean O'Boyle, Lavey booked their place in the Derry SFC Quarter-Finals with the minimum of fuss, with victory over neighbours Greenlough on Friday night at Owenbeg.

Shea Downey got last year's county finalists off to the perfect start when he darted through to score a point with the opening play of the game.

Along with his brother Oran, they helped Lavey play patient football against a defensive Greenlough team, who were without cruciate ligament victim Enda Lynn.

Declan Hughes, Oran Downey and Cailean O’Boyle (2) points saw Lavey cruise into a 0-5 to 0-0 lead midway through the half.

The ‘Lough got off the mark when Lavey ‘keeper Ciaron O’Boyle got a strong hand to touch over Enda McNally’s shot.

Two Niall Loughlin frees helped Greenlough peg the margin back to three points, in front the new manager Rory Gallagher who was among an attendance of 1,631

Lavey led 0-9 to 0-3 at the break and frees from Oran Downey and Cailean O’Boyle extended their margin.

Ryan Tohill and Eamon McGill traded points in the third quarter.

Greenlough, with Niall Bradley now at full-forward, began to a direct approach.  An Enda McNally high ball saw an unconvincing punch from ‘keeper O’Boyle and Tohill added a second point.

Lavey could’ve hit a late goal when Shane McGill found Aidan Toner but Kevin McNally denied him and  it was the Erin’s Own men who took up their spot in the quarter finals.

"I think the standard of club football in Derry, this year, in the league matches, has improved and it is going to take a better team to win the championship this year," expressed Lavey joint manager John Brennan, who was just happy to be in the hat for Sunday's draw.


Lavey: Ciaron O’Boyle (0-1f), Aidan Toner, Michael Drumm, Shane Lagan, Colm Murphy, Shea Downey (0-1), Eamon McGill (0-1), Damian Chivers, Declan Hughes (0-1), Shane McGill, Oran Downey (0-2, 1f), Ryan Mulholland, Fintan Bradley, Cailean O’Boyle (0-6, 4f), Niall Toner
Chrissy Henry for R Mulholland (41), Colm Dillon for E McGill (59), Liam Murphy for O Downey (60).

Greenlough: Kevin McNally, Chrissy Lagan, Jack McCann, Paul Quinn, Patrick McPeake, Conall McErlean, Stefan Lynn, Enda McNally (0-1), Niall Bradley, Damien McTeague, Brian McCallion, Ryan Tohill (0-2), Niall Loughlin (0-2f), Caolan Tohill, Conor Mullan.
Subs: Matthew Bradley (0-1) for C Tohill (43), Michael McDonnell for D McTeague (44), Kevin Mullan for R Tohill (58).

Ref: Mervyn McAleese (Drum).

For full coverage from all this weekend's championship action, get a copy of next Tuesday's County Derry Post.

Pic: Mary K Burke

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.