Derry FL Div1B

Newbridge          3-9
Glenullin              1-11

Second-half goals from Danny Mulholland and Jude Diamond extended Newbridge's run to six games, going into Friday’s trip to Claudy for a top of the table clash.

It was a Connor Madden goal that saw Paddy Bradley’s side lose at Greenlough in round three.

After kicking four points on his brief Glenullin comeback the previous week, Bradley was along the line with Newbridge for this mid-week encounter.

A 14th minute goal, created and finished by Kevin Sweeney put the home side into a 1-3 to 0-1 lead.

Glenullin scored five of the next six points, including five frees from the ever-accurate Dermot O’Kane, on is comeback from injury, to work themselves back into the game at half-time, 1-4 to 0-6.

By the 40th minute, Newbridge had opened a seven point lead.  Danny Mulholland, in the first passage of play in the second-half, and Jude Diamond both found the net.

Glenullin were reduced to 14 men after a 45th minute red card for Niall O’Kane, for striking.

A goal from Brian Mullan, in the in final quarter, cut the gap to three points.

With three minutes to go, Newbridge lost Kevin Sweeney, after he was red carded in last five minutes, in an incident that saw Eoin Bradley booked.

In a tetchy conclusion,  two points separated the sides going into the last five minutes but late scores from Mark McGrogan and Ciaran Brooks gave ‘Bridge a deserved win.

Glenullin are staring relegation in the face, with just four points to their name.  They have a home game against Drumsurn on Friday night, before concluding their campaign at Greenlough.

Newbridge: Michael O’Neill, Ciaran Brooks (0-1), Nathan Rocks, Odhran McGlone, Mickey O’Neill, Ciaran Devlin, Caolan McGrogan, Ryan Carron, Conor Doherty, Danny Mulholland (1-2), Mark McGrogan (0-2, 1f), Paudie McGrogan, Jude Diamond (1-1), Kevin Sweeney (1-2), Aidan McGlone.
Subs: Peter McGrogan (0-1), Shane McGrogan, Peter Gilmore, Ryan McElhone.

Glenullin: Pearse McNicholl, James McKeown, Eunan O'Kane, Eamon McNicholl, Mark O'Kane, John O'Kane (0-1), Conor Rafferty, Gerard O'Kane, Daniel O'Kane, Paul Rafferty, Brian Mullan (1-0), Niall O'Kane, Dermot O'Kane (0-6f), Neil McNicholl (0-2), Eoin Bradley (0-2, 1f).
Subs: Cahal Hasson, Caolan McNeill, Donal O'Kane.

Ref: Alan Nash (Doire Trasna)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.