Paul McGirr Tournament Final
Carrickmore 2-12 Lavey 1-13

A brave Lavey U16 side were left to ponder at what might have been as they fell narrowly against Carrickmore in a thrilling decider in Dromore.

The weather left conditions very difficult but to their credit, both teams served up an hour of entertainment, skill and no shortage of courage.

Man of the match Daniel Fullerton slotted home an early penalty after he dispossessed goalkeeper Eóin Scullion.

Lavey finished the half with points from James McGurk, Enda and Matthew Downey.

Carrickmore led 1-4 to 0-6 at half-time and dominated much of the third quarter.

A fortunate Brian Conway goal in the 46th minute put the Carmen 2-8 to 0-7 ahead.

But Lavey took the game by the scruff of the neck.  James McGurk and Enda Downey - who scored 0-10 between them - saw them in control.

Ryan Farrell took advantage of a strong Enda Downey run in the 56th minute to find the net for Lavey and there was only a point between the sides.

The closing stages saw both teams throw everything they had at the game.  It was brilliant to watch.

Fullerton and Cahir Loughran opened a three point gap, but two James McGurk points had the Derry men back in the game.

Such was the honest endeavour from both teams, the game was always going to go down to the final moments.

It was a Fullerton point - two minutes into stoppage time - that ensured a Carrickmore victory.


Carrickmore: Colm Eccles, Donall Sweeney, Seamus Sweeney (0-1), Mehall McElduff, Oisin McGurk, Conor Cuddy, James Donaghy, Brian Conway (1-2), Tiernan McGarrity (0-1), Colum McCrory, Cahir Munroe, Daniel Fullerton (1-7, 1 pen, 4f), Daithi McCallan, Cahir Loughran (0-1), Lorcan McGarrity.
Subs: Aidan Loughran for C McCrory (57), Mattie McCallan for D Sweeney (60), Cathair Conroy, Brenainn McCallan, Patrick McCallan, Conal McKee, Conall Murray, Conn Sweeney,  Jude Hughes, Conor McGarrity, Gabie McNally, Oisin Rafferty, Corey Gillen, Ryan Haughey, Daire Coney.

Lavey: Eóin Scullion, Segdae Melaugh, Niall Rafferty, Joseph McGurk, Niall Duggan, Jamie Duggan (0-1), Ryan Farrell (1-0), Enda Downey (0-5, 3f), Shea O’Neill, Jack Scullion, James McGurk (0-5), Rory McGill, Patrick McGurk, Matthew Downey (0-2), Calum Downey.
Subs: Conlan O’Kane for R McGill (BC 32), Louis Regan, Oisin Madden, Conor Downey, Dara McGurk, Colm Hassan, Dara Young, Adam Maher, Dara Devlin.

Full coverage in Tuesday's County Derry Post.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.