Enniskillen Gaels 1-6 Ballinascreen 0-6

BALLINASCREEN'S hopes of lifting a first Ulster title were dashed on New Year's Day at St Paul's in Belfast.  It was Enniskillen who backed up three Fermanagh  titles with an Ulster championship - the club's first since 1988.

Ballinascreen, defending the road end in the first-half, opened the scoring with a 6th minute Euan McBride point.

With a slight advantage of the breeze, a free from Noel Rafferty a Marty Bradley effort had Ballinascreen 0-3 to 0-1 ahead midway through the half.

The Derry champions were rocked by a Conor Love goal seven minutes before half-time that turned the game on its head.

Half-time: Enniskillen 1-2 Ballinascreen 0-3

After the break, Rafferty added a second free but still it was Enniskillen who held a slender two point lead.

It was all Ballinascreen in the open stages of the second-half, but they were guilty of a host of missed chances.

Play by play, it was Enniskillen who pushed ahead and with 12 minutes to go as they led by four points.  With the advantage of the breeze, they looked in control.

A late rally from ‘Screen saw them trail by two points going into the last five minutes but it was the Gaels who hung on for glory.

After the game, 'Screen boss Barry Dillon gave his reaction to defeat: "We’re devastated.  The boys put everything into it but today just wasn’t our day.  We forced things and couldn’t get into the game.

"We hit a lot of wides and our shot selection let us down, our execution was poor but you can’t question the boy’s commitment out there today."

BALLINASCREEN: Ryan Scullion, Damien McCoy, Ciaran Doyle, Ryan Doyle, Aaron Bradley, Caoilite McAlinden, Conal Logan, Martin Bradley (0-1), Chris Logan, Euan McBride, Ronan McKenna, Cathal Donnelly, Emmett Duggan (0-1), Noel Rafferty (0-4, 3f), Reece McSorley.
SUBS: Daire Kelly for Chris Logan (49), Mark Farrelly for R McSorley (49).

ENNISKILLEN GAELS: Cian Newman, Odhran Agnew, Patrick Cassidy, Jack O’Hare, Gavin Greene, Jonathan Cassidy, Ronan Quinn (0-1), Eoin Beacom, Brandon Horan, Callum Jones (0-1f), Matthew McAleer, John Reihill (0-1f), Conor Love (1-2), Ronan Beattie (0-1), Matthew Dixon.
SUBS: Josh Hogan for G Greene (49), Killian Corrigan for J Reihill (inj).

Report, photos and reaction in Tuesday's County Derry Post.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.