An ability to scores goals at the right times saw St Patrick's Maghera power their way to a 11-12 to 2-7 victory over St Mary's Magherafelt at MUSA in Cookstown on Thursday afternoon.

It was their third successive title and a 6-6 to 0-6 lead at half-time had them on the path to victory.

Magherafelt started brightly and looked the more balanced side, after they settled following Conor Johnston's goal in the first attack for Maghera.

But the longer the first half went on, the winners began to settle into the groove and ran out comfortable winners.

St Patrick’s Maghera: Charlie O’Kane, Donnach Colgan, Fiachra Turner, Fionn O’Sullivan, Oisin McMullan, Cahal McKaigue (0-2), Gavin McIvor, Darach McGonigle (0-3, 2f), Finbarr McShane (0-1), Marc McGurk (1-0), Cathal Mulholland (0-1), Ciaran Brady (3-1), Cormac McCloskey (1-3), Padraig Haran (2-0), Conor Johnston (3-1).
Subs: Tiarnan Melaugh, Connor Melaugh, Emmet Turner, Ché McCloskey, Turlough McHugh (1-0), Dion Lynch, Cillian McEldowney, Oisin Molloy, Brandon Kelly.

St Mary’s Magherafelt: Patrick Heaney, Luke Grant, Michael Burns, Joseph McElroy, Rory Small, Dara McGuckin, Eamon Young, Michael Walls (0-1), Ronan Doherty, Nicolas Cleary (0-1), Patrick Birt, James Sargent (0-1f), Shay Murray, Fergal Logan (2-4, 2f), Jude Beattie.
Subs: Egan McGuire, Michael McGuckin, Fergal Walls, Leo McAleer, Charlie Mulholland, Oran Mulligan, Con McAlister, Lorcan McDonnell, Dylan McAtamney, Jamie McMullan.

Full report and photos in Tuesday's County Derry Post.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.