Premier Electrics JFC
Glack 3-8
Moneymore 2-5
Michael McMullan in Ballerin

Three first-goals from Adam O'Kane, Cormac Boyle and a Finbarr O'Brien penalty put Glack on their way to a championship upset against Moneymore on Friday night.

"We are a goal-getting team and when you can get them you can kill teams off early," commented Glack full-forward Boyle after the game.

Despite missing the suspended Niall McGowan, who scored 1-10 when the sides met in the league, Glack hit the ground running with the lively Adam O'Kane hard to tie down up front.

A move started by Ciaran Carmichael ended with O'Kane flicking over goalkeeper McInness for Glack's first goal.

Glack hit their second goal from O'Brien's perfectly placed penalty after O'Kane was adjudged to have been fouled as his initial shot hit the side netting.

It took 20 minutes for Moneymore to get a score, a fine effort from the sideline by full-back Chrippy Marshall, but Glack came strong again.

Adam O'Kane was again involved with Cormac Boyle finishing to the net and Glack were 3-2 to 0-1 ahead.

Moneymore hit a purple patch and Paudie O'Neill nearly found the net in first-half stoppage time, only to be denied by the first of two brilliant JM McLaughlin saves.

Seconds later O'Neill was involved again, setting up Adam McCormick for a goal as Moneymore took control of the game, but trailing 3-2 to 1-4, half-time came at the wrong time.

Aaron Moore picked up a second-booking early in the second-half and Glack looked set to take over.

But it was Moneymore who controlled the game, with half-time substitute Stephen Barker having a 100 per cent success with his kick-outs.

It was translating it into scores that was the problem, as they lofted balls into the well-organised Glack defence.

With Christy Young at full-forward late on, Moneymore threatened for goal and eventfully found the net from corner-back Pearse McFlynn after a Young flick hit the bar.

With Patrick Feeney and Rory Young to come back into the side, Moneymore will still have huge say in the championship qualifiers, but it was Glack who will go the front door route.

Glack: James Martin McLaughlin, Luke McLaughlin, Ciaran O’Brien, Ryan O’Kane, Tommy O’Kane (0-1), Eddie McLaughlin, Jimmy O’Connor, Liam O’Brien, Aaron Moore (0-1), Martin McGonigle (0-2), Cormac Boyle (1-0), Ciaran Carmichael, Finbarr O’Brien (1-0 pen), Adam O’Kane (1-0), Ryan Morgan (0-3f).
Subs: Eoin Mackey for A O’Kane (INJ 36), Jason Canning (0-1) for F O'Brien (51), Barney McLaughlin for C Carmichael (55).

Moneymore: Liam McInness, Pearse McFlynn (1-0), Christopher Marshall (0-1), Oisin O’Neill. Emmett Crozier (0-1), Aodhan Conway, Aaron Moore, Christy Young, Brian Marshall, Conan McAleese, Stephen Scullion (0-1), Stephen McGurk, Adam McCormick (1-0), Callan Bloomer (0-2, 1f), Paudie O’Neill.
Subs: Stephen Barker for L McInness (HT), Neil McKenna for O O’Neill (INJ HT), Dean Kelly for A McCormick (43), Patrick Devlin for C McAleese (53).

Full coverage and photos in Tuesday's County Derry Post.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.