Dr McKenna Cup 

Tyrone 0-20 Derry 0-11

Derry fell away in the second-half as Tyrone moved up the gears to start their 2019 season with a win at Celtic Park.

An Emmett Bradley point after the break cut the margin to a point (0-9 t0 0-8) but with Kyle Coney pulling the strings on his comeback and Darren McCurry rifling over five points, the Red Hands were on a different level.

While Tyrone only started with four of the team that lost to Dublin in the All-Ireland Final, Enda Lynn (pictured), Padraig Cassidy, Emmett Bradley and Paddy Coney were the only survivors from Derry's qualifier exit against Kildare.

Gareth McKinless played as a sweeper for the Oakleafers and while he was able to bomb forward, they were more compact despite having four debutants in defence.

But as the second-half went on, Derry began to tire and Conor Meyler's industry mixed with Coney's ability to kick passes saw Tyrone run out comfortable winners.

Ben McCarron, fresh from picking up an Ulster School All-Star, came on to make his senior debut and could have had a goal in the closing stages, but his shot went over the bar.

Tyrone only created one goal chance with Ronan O'Neill off target late on but, with 11 different men scoring, the Red Hands romped to top spot in the group.

Derry travel to Brewster Park, to face Fermanagh, in the next round on Sunday, January 6 and open their league campaign against Antrim, in Glenavy, three weeks later.


Tyrone: Niall Morgan (0-2, 1 ’45’), Liam Rafferty, Rory Brennan,  Aidan McCrory, Tiernan McCann, Conor Meyler, Ben McDonnell (0-2), Conan Grugan (0-1), Brian Kennedy, Niall Sludden (0-2), Kyle Coney (0-1), Cathal McShane (0-2), Darren McCurry (0-5, 1f), DD Mulgrew (0-2, 1f), Ruairi Sludden (0-1f).
Subs: Darragh Canavan (0-1) for D Mulgrew (45), Matthew Murnaghan for T McCann (45), Ronan McNamee for B Kennedy (52), Ronan O’Neill (0-1f) for D McCurry (58), Declan McClure for C Grugan (62).

Derry: Oran Hartin, Sean F Quinn, Conor Mulholland, Eoghan Concannon, Gareth McKinless (0-1f), Ryan Dougan, Eamonn McGill (0-1), Emmett Bradley (0-2), Padraig Cassidy, Ciaran McFaul (0-1), Christopher Bradley, Paddy Coney; Jason Rocks, Ryan Bell (0-3, 1f), Enda Lynn (0-2).
Subs: Paul McNeill for C Mulholland (42), Padraig McGrogan for G McKinless (48), Ben McCarron (0-1) for S Quinn (52).

Ref: Paul Faloon (Down).

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.