DERRY CCC have announced their fixture programmes for the season ahead and planned changes to league and championship structures.

The football leagues will commence on Wednesday, April 4.  After seven rounds, there will be a break for a new-look ‘League Cup’, to be played without county players – commencing on May 13.

Following seven rounds of games and a final, there will be a two week holiday break (June 30 – July 14).

This will be followed by the remainder of the league games, played until a conclusion before the championships begin.

Clubs will have access to their county players for all league games.

Senior club footballers are guaranteed 23 games across league, league cup and championship.  Intermediate club footballers will have at least 21 games with 23 at junior level.

In hurling, club players will be guaranteed 16 or 17 games, depending on league placings.


Round 1 –
 Sunday, September 9
Quarter-Final – Sunday, September 23
Semi-Finals – Sunday, October 7
Final – Sunday, October 21

Round 1 –
Sunday, August 26
Quarter-Final – Sunday, September 9
Semi-Finals – Sunday, September 23
Final – Sunday, October 7

Round 1 –
Sunday, August 12
Qualifying Round 1- Sunday, August 26
Qualifying Round 2 - Sunday, September 9
Semi-Finals – Sunday, September 23
Final – Sunday, October 7

2019 and 2020 FOOTBALL SEASONS

For the start of the 2019 season, the leagues will be amended based on placing at the end of 2018.  Division 1A and 1B will each have 12 teams, with the remaining 14 teams forming division 2.

The top team in division 2 at the end of the 2018 season will play the team ranked 12th in division 1.  The winner will be placed in 1A for 2019, the loser into 1B.  A similar scenario will see a play-off between 2018 division three winners and the team finishing 8th in division 2.

The league sizes for 2020 will remain the same (12, 12 and 14) with 2 teams up and 2 down with promotion/relegation across each division.


In 2019, there will be a SFC (16 teams), IFC (14 teams) and JFC (8 teams).  The bottom team in 2018 division 1 will be relegated to the IFC for 2019, with the top team in division two promoted to SFC for 2019.

There will be a similar situation for the IFC and JFC promotion/relegation.


There will be a change for the 2020 season to SFC (16 teams), IFC (12) and JFC (10).

The SFC will be determined by 2019 League standings.  It will include all division 1A clubs and the top 3 from 1B plus IFC winners. If IFC winners are in the top 3 then the top 4 Division 1B teams will play SFC.

The IFC will be determined by 2019 league standings, the next 11 top placed teams from Division 1B and Division 2 plus JFC Winners

The remaining 10 teams will play in the JFC.


In the hurling league, there will be seven teams.  Na Magha are opting to play in the Antrim league.

There will be a break from the league in a similar format to football, catering for non-county players.

League games will begin on Thursday, April 12 for three weeks before the ‘League Cup’ (8 rounds) comes in, running in tandem with Derry’s Christy Ring Cup involvement.

This competition will be followed by the conclusion of the senior hurling league.  The difference from last season is the absence of the league split and the additional three league games.

Like last season, the league will be linked to the championship.

The top two teams go straight through to the SHC semi-finals.

The next four teams (3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th) will play-off to see who joins them in the SHC.

The round one play-off losers will go into a further play-off with the 7th placed team from the league and Na Magha to determine the pairings for the IHC and JHC finals.

These hurling structures are in place for the next three seasons, 2018-2020.

Hurling championship
Play-off R1 –
Saturday, September 1
Play-off R2 / SHC Semi-Finals – Sunday, September 16
Senior/Intermediate and Junior Finals – Sunday, September 30

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.