Ulster Club MFC Quarter-Final
Bellaghy 1-17 Inniskeen 1-4
Michael McMullan reports from Shaws Road

It was expected to be a tougher task, but once again Derry champions Bellaghy cruised to victory, this time over Monaghan side Inniskeen on Sunday in Belfast.

The Tones raced into a 0-7 to 0-0 lead after 24 minutes, with Charlie Diamond kicking three points.

It took until the 12th minute for Inniskeen to get their first shot at the posts.

Sean Jones scored 3-6 in their county final win over Carrickmacross, but James Diamond - like he did to Dunloy's Seaan Elliott - kept Jones under wraps.

Kealan Friel and Conleth McShane gave Bellaghy a tremendous platform at midfield.

But with five minutes to the break, Inniskeen cut Bellaghy open and it was Dylan Mulholland who found the net at the far post.

The Tones led 0-8 to 1-2 at the break but never looked in danger of letting the lead slip.

Lorcan Spier finished with 0-8 and when Ronan Lee had his shot saved by goalkeeper Cassidy, Bellaghy skipper Paul Cassidy finished to the net.

The Monaghan champions lost Christopher Hanratty to a second booking, who then pushed referee Brendan Toland on his way off.

Bellaghy play St Eunan's Letterkenny on St Stephen's Day in the semi final.

Ballyholland and Crossmaglen are on the other side of the draw.


Bellaghy: Daire McErlean, Cormac McLarnon, Ronan McFaul, Odhran Lee, Peter McErlean, James Diamond, Conan Milne, Conleth McShane (0-2), Kealan Friel, Oisin McErlean, Lorcan Spier (0-8, 2f), Charlie Diamond (0-5, 2f) Lee Brady, Paul Cassidy (1-2), Ronan Lee.
Subs: Oisin McClafferty for O Lee (53), Sean Turner for P Cassidy (55), Eoghan Lee for C Milne (58), Fearghall Murray for L Spier (INJ 61).

Inniskeen: Tiernan Cassidy, Jarlath McGahon (0-1), Christopher Hanratty, Callum Quigley, Patrick Burns, Shane Hanratty, Conor Downey, Andrew Woods (0-1 ‘45’), Conor Gernon, Gareth Burns, Sean Jones (0-1), Adam McShane, Jack Casey-Hoey, Padraig McGahon (0-1), Dylan Mulholland (1-0).
Subs: James Lynch for P McGahon (BC 42), Dylan McDonald for D Mulholland (57), Alan Jones for G Burns (57), Cathal McMahon for C Downey (58).

Photos, report and interviews in Tuesday's County Derry Post

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.