Ballinascreen 3-7 Coleraine 0-10
Michael McMullan in Owenbeg

THREE first-half goals from Shane Mulgrew, Benny Heron and Dermot McBride saw Ballinascreen dump Coleraine out of the Derry SFC on Monday night.

Eoghan Rua won the Ulster and Derry leagues, following it up with a landslide victory over Magherafelt in the first-round.  But rank outsiders Ballinascreen were sitting in the long grass and unleashed a level of intensity early on that Coleraine couldn’t live with.

It was the direct running of Benny Heron that did the damage.  After racing along the end line his pass was turned into the net by Dermot McBride.

Coleraine stormed up-field but Richard Carey was denied by ‘Screen goalkeeper Niall McGlade.

In the 12th minute Heron was on the burst again but when Ryan McGeough saved the initial shot it was Shane Mulgrew who poked the rebound to the net and Ballinascreen were 2-1 to 0-1 ahead.

Barry McGoldrick was sent off on a second booking after 24 minutes.  It left Eoghan Rua with a mountain to climb, against a well-organised ‘Screen defence.

Niall McGlade made another save but when Benny Heron added a third goal, the writing was on the wall, as Ballinascreen led 3-4 to 0-4 at half-time.

Coleraine pulled some of the margin back in the second-half but Ballinascreen were able to soak up the pressure.

Paul Cleary ended Ballinascreen’s scoreless 26 minute spell with a late score to put them into the semi-finals.

Ballinascreen: Niall McGlade, Philip McGlade, Dermot McBride, Eoghan Gilmore, Kieran Conway, Michael McShane, Philip Bradley, Paul Burns, Anton Kelly, Carlus McWilliams, Shane Mulgrew (1-4, 3f), Brendan Herron, Benny Heron (1-2, 1f), Mickey McBride, Barry Grant.

Subs: Ronan Murphy for E Gilmore, Paul Cleary (0-1) for B Grant, Martin Bradley for M McBride, Gary Conway for A Kelly.

Coleraine: Ryan McGeough, Barry Daly, Niall Holly, Ciaran Mullan, Ciaran Lenahan, Liam McGoldrick, Ciaran Lagan, Barry McGoldrick, Shea McLaughlin, Ruairi Mooney, Colm McGoldrick (0-5f), Gavan McWilliams (0-3, 2f), Ciaran McGoldrick, Sean Leo McGoldrick (0-1), Richard Carey (0-1).

Subs: Paul Daly for Shea McLaughlin, Stephen Coyles for C Lenahan, Hugh Casey for C Lagan, Eamon Connelly for R Carey.
Ref: Damien Harkin (Slaughtmanus).

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] or [email protected] at any time.