Derry City 3

Shamrock Rovers 1

Derry City got back to winning ways with a thoroughly deserved win over Shamrock Rovers at Maginn Park.

The ball was in the Shamrock Rovers net thanks to a wonder strike from Aaron McEneff just five minutes in. Dean Jarvis’ cross from the left picked out Lukas Schubert in space at the back post. The midfielder opted not to go for the header, instead bringing the ball down, but just when it seemed as if the chance had gone, he prodded the ball towards the edge of the area where McEneff stood, and he curled the ball spectacularly over Chencinski, with the ball striking the underside of the crossbar on its way into the net.

There was little that Gerard Doherty could do about the equalising goal when it came, as Gary Shaw collected a ball into the penalty area before setting up Graham Burke, who volleyed the ball spectacularly over the City goalkeeper and into the net to level the game.

There was nothing between the sides until the last seconds of the first half when Derry struck again. Lukas Schubert collected a flick on from Nathan Boyle and made his way into the area. The midfielder again opted not to shoot but played the ball across the face of goal unselfishly to Barry McNamee, who picked his spot, placing the ball into the bottom corner past Chencinski for his sixth goal of the season.

Rovers thought they had equalised on 75 minutes when Meenan headed in Miele’s cross but as the visitors were off celebrating, the goal was ruled out for a foul on goalkeeper Gerard Doherty.

But the game was up on 91 minutes when Ronan Curtis was fouled and McEneff lashed home his second of the game from the penalty spot.


Derry City: Gerard Doherty, Conor McDermott, Aaron Barry, Dean Jarvis (Ben Doherty 87’), Aaron McEneff, Nicky Low, Ronan Curtis (Mark Timlin 90’), Lukas Schubert (Josh Daniels 81’), Barry McNamee, Nathan Boyle, Harry Monaghan.

Shamrock Rovers: Tomer Chencinski, Luke Byrne, David Webster, Roberto Lopes (Sean Heaney 68’), Ronan Finn, Brandon Miele, Gary Shaw, David McAlistair, Simon Madden, Trevor Clarke (Darren Meenan 62’), Graham Burke (Michael O’Connor 81’).

Referee: Ben Connolly.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Derry Now editorial team on 028 7129 6600 for Derry City stories Or 028 7774 3970 for County Derry stories. Or you can email [email protected] at any time.