02 Oct 2022

Counting is underway at the 2019 local authority elections

Count Centre
Counting has begun at the Foyle Arena in Derry for the local authority elections. There are five District Electoral Areas (DEAs) within the city boundaries which are Ballyarnett, Faughan, Foyleside, The Moor and Waterside. Twenty-eight of the 40 seats on Derry City and Strabane District Council will be taken from these DEAs with the remaining 12 being decided in the Strabane area DEAs of Derg and Sperrin. Figures for the eligible electorates of the DEAs have been released and are as follows.
  • Ballyarnett 17,425
  • Derg 12,996
  • Faughan 13,601
  • Foyleside, 13,233
  • Sperrin 18,048
  • The Moor 13,114
  • Waterside 19,558
Prior to the elections, Derry City and Strabane District Council comprised of 40 elected representatives across all the seven  DEAs which are made up as follows: -
  • 16 Sinn Fein
  • 8 SDLP
  • 7 DUP,
  • 7 Independents
  • 2 Ulster Unionist.
Counting is scheduled to continue throughout the weekend and regular updates will be available on

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.