08 Aug 2022

Council Election 2019: Third SDLP Councillor returned to the Guildhall

The SDLP have returned their third representative to the Guildhall at the Derry City and Strabane District Council area election. Shauna Cusack who contested the Foyleside DEA has joined colleagues Mary Durkan who topped the poll there and Angela Dobbins who topped the poll for the nationalist party in the Ballyarnett DEA. The quota for election in Foyleside stands at 1,227 and Ms Cusack surpassed that target at the third count. Sinn Fein's Hayleigh Fleming was eliminated at the second count and after her tally of 644 was divided amongst the remaining candidates that now leaves the situation in Foyleside as follows: Sean Carr (Independent) +16 now on 870 Michael Cooper (Sinn Fein) +254 now on 1,151 Shaun Harkin (PBPA) +20 now on 1,078 Eric McGinley (Sinn Fein) +312 now on 973 Lilian Seenoi-Barr (SDLP) +2 now on 777    

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.