15 Aug 2022

Council Election 2019: Sinn Fein without a seat in Derry city so far

As the SDLP edge within 25 votes of taking a fifth seat in the Ballyarnett DEA in Derry, Sinn Fein have yet to have a single candidate cross the electoral line in the city. The SDLP's Angela Dobbins (pictured above) topped the poll with 1,392 first preferences. The SDLP's Rory Farrell should be elected at the sixth count in Ballyarnett as Sinn Fein's Caoimhe McKnight, an outgoing councillor is poised to depart the race very soon. After the fifth count in Ballyarnett and the distribution of the surplus vote of the SDLP's Brian Tierney the situation is as follows: Nuala Crilly (PBPA) 1,053; Sandra Duffy (Sinn Fein) 1,006; Rory Farrell (SDLP) 1,343; Caoimhe McKnight (Sinn Fein) 951 and Aileen Mellon (Sinn Fein) on 1,001.  

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.