Council Election 2019: Foyleside DEA poised to go the wire

The election count in the Foyleside DEA is now poised to go the wire with Sean Carr (Independent) and Sinn Fein's Eric McGinley set to battle it out for the final berth. Two SDLP seats have already been secured by Mary Durkan and Shauna Cusack and a third taken by People Before Profit's Sean Harkin. After the fifth count, Sinn Fein's Michael Cooper is just 19 votes shy of attaining the 1,208 quota and should claim the fourth of the five seats on offer in Foyleside. Meanwhile, Sean Carr is on 1,038 and Eric McGinley is on 1,020. At one point the gap between both was just two votes. The count staff have now reverted to going back to using Councillor Shauna Cusack's remaining surplus votes in attempt to separate them and award the final political berth.

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.