12 Aug 2022

Council Election 2019: Resurgent SDLP elect fourth Councillor in Derry

The SDLP's fourth councillor to be elected in Derry is Brian Tierney who has fulfilled the quota of 1,326 in the Ballyarnett DEA. In an electoral resurgence for the nationalist party, Mr Tierney, who was an outgoing councillor, will join Mary Durkan, Angela Dobbins and Shauna Cusack in the Guildhall. His election came at the fourth stage of the count. Still in the hunt in Ballyarnett after the fourth stage are Nuala Crilly (PBPA) on 1,046; Sandra Duffy (Sinn Fein) on 1,005; Rory Farrell (SDLP) on 1,325; Anne McCloskey (Aontu) on 1,283; Caoimhe McKnight (Sinn Fein) on 949 and Aileen Mellon (Sinn Fein) on 996. At this point both People Before Profit and Aontu are both out polling Sinn Fein in an area where they ran four candidates with a confident expectation of taking three seats and harboured hopes of gaining a fourth. Instead at this stage the SDLP have returned two in Ballyarnett and are on the cusp of a third seat with Rory Farrell poised to cross the line.      

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.