10 Aug 2022

Council Election: Foyleside re-elects an Independent as Sinn Fein take another hit in Derry

The Foyleside DEA in Derry has seen the re-election of an Independent candidate in a dramatic conclusion to the race on the sixth and final count. Whilst Sean Carr (Independent) and Michael Cooper both got across the line below the quota of 1,227, long serving Sinn Fein Councillor Eric McGinley will not be returning to the Guildhall. In the end the candidates elected in Foyleside were, Mary Durkan (SDLP), Shauna Cusack (SDLP), Shaun Harkin (PBPA), Sean Carr (Independent) and Michael Cooper (Sinn Fein).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.