25 May 2022

Faughanvale net second win of the season

Joe Gray's side notch all of their 4-11 tally from play

Faughanvale net second win of the season

Paddy O'Kane hit 2-2 in Faughanvale's win over Glenullin. (Pic: Tom Heaney/NW Press Pics)


Faughanvale 4-11
Glenullin 1-10

Three second-half goals saw Faughanvale pick up their second win of the season at John McLaughlin Park over a Glenullin side still waiting to get off the mark.

Joe Gray's side, who were without regular goalkeeper Daryl Moore due to his charity running over the weekend, scored all of their 4-11 tally from play and have gave themselves a platform to carry forward into the season ahead.

With the wind at their backs, the some side were seven points ahead the break. The 'Vale lost Sean Butcher to an early injury. Donal Close was forced off with and injury, with is replacement Gerard O'Kane later replaced by Eoin Bradley after injury.

The 'Glen, who had a bright pre-season, relied on Dermot O'Kane's kicking for the majority of their scores and failed to get a grip on the game.

Kevin Martin and Dean Curran tapped over early scores to settle Faughanvale in the opening five minutes.

Paddy O'Kane's first goal set the home side on their way, with Curtis O’Hara, Eoin McElhinney and Curran adding points to open a 1-9 to 0-5 interval lead.

Leigh Mullan hit the net for the 'Glen, but it was the clinical home side that raced to victory. Paddy O'Kane added a second goal, with defenders Shane McElhinney and Connlaoth McGee helping the 'Vale to a 10-point win.

FAUGHANVALE: Matthew Stephenson; Sean Butcher, Gordon Fahey, Shane McElhinney (1-0); Connlaoth McGee (1-0), Conor McGuinness, Kyle McGuinness; Mark Creane, Michael Sweeney; Cathal O'Kane (0-2), Eoin McElhinney (0-1), Kevin Martin (0-1); Paddy O'Kane (2-2), Curtis O'Hara (0-1), Dean Curran (0-3)
SUBS: Ciaran Feeny, Conan Murray, Eugene O'Kane (0-1)

GLENULLIN: Frank McGinley; Mark O'Kane, Eunan O'Kane, Conor Rafferty; Daniel O'Kane, John O'Kane, Donal Close (0-1); Traglach Bradley (0-1), Oisin McGowan (0-1); Conor Kearney (0-1), Leigh Mullan (1-0), Donal O'Kane; Dermot O'Kane (0-5f), Cillian Bradley, Chrissy Dempsey (Aghadowey)
SUBS: Gerard O'Kane, Eoin Bradley (0-1), James Conway

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.